Prayer and Songs for Palm Sunday: Ride on to die – the contrast between exuberance and sorrow

Music links updated 2014

Palm Sunday:  palm-branch-cross

I spent some time last night creating a Holy Week playlist in iTunes.  I have an extensive collection of contemporary Christian music (CCM) and worship music and while I greatly enjoy classic church music and hymns, it was fun last night to pull out some of the “classic CCM” tunes I used to listen to during Holy Week when I was in high school and college.

Below you’ll find four CCM classics and one slightly more recent worship song that I find best express the contrasts  of Palm Sunday – the exuberant joy and excitement of the crowd as Jesus entered Jerusalem, the heart cry of longing for a Redeemer and the deep shadow and sorrow that lies over the day as Jesus knowingly “rides on to die.”  But first, a prayer:

A Prayer for Palm Sunday (from the IMBY.net Lenten Devotional blog)

I worship you Lord! You did not enter your holy city Jerusalem on the back of a war horse, but humbly and on a donkey. You knew that you were surrounded by murderers, yet you came in peace, and by your sacrifice you would utterly conquer death before the week had passed. You, oh Lord, are blessed and worthy of my praise. You have saved your people. I say, “you are my king!” … I long to live in the city where you sit on the throne! Establish your Kingdom, so that your people can live in peace. Jesus, I bow before you, and I will sing your praises until your Kingdom comes and is established, and forever after.


Music:

Here are all of the above songs as a streaming playlist:

————

If my internet connection is good enough, I’ll hope to post a variety of worship songs – including some classic choral music too – each day of Holy Week, in addition to daily prayers and reflections.

Note: All of these songs are available for download at iTunes. 

7 Responses to Prayer and Songs for Palm Sunday: Ride on to die – the contrast between exuberance and sorrow

  1. Louise Courtney says:

    I would very much like to use the picture of the palm and cross on the front of some Lenten Communion books that I am printing for my congregation (not for sale). May I ask if the copyright is yours? If it is, could I ask you if you would alow me to use it please? And if not, would you be kind enough to let me know who to contact?

    Many thanks.

  2. [...] the Cross St. Gregory the Great: Prayer of Acclaim to the Suffering Christ A Prayer for Holy Week Prayer and Songs for Palm Sunday: Ride on to die – the contrast between exuberance and sorrow A Litany of Humility Penitential Prayer of St. Augustine Lenten Hymn to the Word A Prayer of [...]

  3. Palm Sunday is the first day of the Holy week, the Day of the triumphant entry of the Lord Jesus Christ in to Jerusalem city.The Cross and the palm branch depict the glory of Palm Sunday and Hosanna !!

  4. For those who have inquired about the image and its copyright, I found it online a few years ago. I do not control the copyright, and there was no clear contact information about copyright from whatever source I downloaded the image from.

    I’ve long ago erased whatever link I might have had. I assumed a non-commercial use as a blog illustration would be acceptable. L&B is a 100% non-profit voluntary effort. We get no donations, nor do we have any advertising.

    We don’t post many photos or illustrations these days, but when we do, I usually try to credit the sources.

    – Karen, L&B administrator

  5. […] in 2009 I posted a short Palm Sunday devotional:  Prayer and Songs for Palm Sunday: Ride on to die – the contrast between exuberance and sorrow which included a 5 song […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

