Maryland

February 26, 2010

Preamble:
We, the People of the State of Maryland, grateful to Almighty God for our civil and religious liberty, and taking into our serious consideration the best means of establishing a good Constitution in this State for the sure foundation and more permanent security thereof, declare:

Declaration of Rights, Article 36:
That as it is the duty of every man to worship God in such manner as he thinks most acceptable to Him, all persons are equally entitled to protection in their religious liberty;

Lord, we are indeed thankful to You for our civil and religious liberty.  We pray for the continued freedom of religion in the state of Maryland.  Amen.


A great Lenten Reflection on Why We Fast

February 26, 2010

WOW!  Over at Splendor in the Ordinary, Amy has a wonderful reflection on “Why We Fast”  It really is must reading in terms of helping us understand how “small” disciplines and sacrifices can actually allow the Lord to deal with big issues in our hearts.

Here’s an excerpt:

But personally, every Lent when I have chosen something related to eating and drinking for the Fast, it has hit me right where it hurts.  When I remove one of those little comforts, those easy over-the-counter panaceas, it doesn’t take long for my sin to flare. While I wouldn’t usually say I have a problem with anger, impatience, or bitterness, take away my morning coffee, (or X, Y or Z) and I do.

This leads me to justify my misbehavior:

These sins aren’t real, I’m the victim of my circumstances.

At other times, I begin the mental gymnastic:

Coffee, chocolate, dessert, whatever it may be…, these are gifts from God, He knows I’m weak that’s why He created these things, why am I taking it  upon myself to question this?!

But in the silence of Lent, I hear His Voice:

Pray. Be still. Take up your Cross. Follow Me.

GO READ IT ALL!


Mark 2:13-17

February 26, 2010

Then he went out again by the sea; and all the multitude came to him, and he taught them. (Mark 2:13)
      Jesus, teach us as well!

As he passed by, he saw Levi the son of Alphaeus sitting at the tax office. And he said to him, “Follow me.” So he arose and followed him. (Mark 2:14)
      Holy Spirit, please help each of us hear Jesus’ call to follow him; give each of us a heart to answer the call as Levi did.

Now it happened, as he was dining in Levi’s house, that many tax collectors and sinners also sat together with Jesus and his disciples; for there were many, and they followed him. (Mark 2:15)
      Jesus, we pray that you will come into our home and that all of our friends and family will be gather together to you.

And when the scribes and Pharisees saw him eating with the tax collectors and sinners, they said to his disciples, “How is it that he eats and drinks with tax collectors and sinners?” (Mark 2:16)
      Father we too are sinners who need Jesus. Thank you for sending him to us. Don’t let us be hindered by the scoffers and those who reject him.

When Jesus heard it, he said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance.” (Mark 2:17)
      Holy Spirit, move our hearts to lasting repentance. Thank you.

      Jesus, please help us throughout this diocese answer your call to repentance.

Friday: 51; Genesis 40:1-23; 1 Corinthians 3:16-23; Mark 2:13-22
Saturday: 138, 139:1-17(18-23); Genesis 41:1-13; 1 Corinthians 4:1-7; Mark 2:23-3:6

Albany Intercessor


Lent Quotes: Charles Spurgeon – being living biographies of Christ

February 26, 2010

A high calling to aspire this Lenten season.  May this season of penitence and seeking the Lord produce this Christ-likeness in us!

A Christian should be a striking likeness of Jesus Christ. You have read lives of Christ, beautifully and eloquently written, but the best life of Christ is his living biography, written out in the words and actions of his people. If we were what we profess to be, and what we should be, we should be pictures of Christ; yea, such striking likenesses of him, that the world would not have to hold us up by the hour together, and say, “Well, it seems somewhat of a likeness;” but they would, when they once beheld us, exclaim, “He has been with Jesus;”

-C. H. Spurgeon

Hat tip Eric Swensson at Awakenings


Fr. Nigel Update

February 26, 2010

Date: Thu, 25 Feb 2010 6:35 pm
From: “Fr. Nigel Mumford+”
Subject: Prayers please and a thank you

God-morrow my dear prayer warriors,

Please pray for Monday 1st when I go back to work part time for the first time in 5 months…and especially for the 10am Healing Service on Tuesday March 2nd. Where Lynn and I will be speaking. You know YOUR prayers work… neat egh… thank you dear friends… Thank YOU God… I so want to write the A word and the H word but, hey, it is Lent.

Lynn and I went to Saratoga ICU today to thank some more nurses… it was such a high… they were so excited to see me upright and walking. I was quite surprised to see the nurse that worked on me a lot to be so small… I had only seen her when I was lying down… I was amazed… I thought she was so tall! I suppose it is all a matter of perspective… You know that dynamite comes in small packages!

I was told by a nurse and the hospital chaplain that things had changed a lot in ICU since I was there. The change is prayer. They (the nurses) all now pray for the patients in the ICU thanks be to God... it is so good to have left a legacy. I have been asked back to the hospital
March 22nd to give my testimony to the staff.

They had all read the newspaper article I wrote to the editor. Gosh it was such a high to meet everyone and to properly say thank you… as I again thank you for your continued prayers.
Hope to see most of you on March 2nd…

It is so good to be alive….PRAISE THE LORD….

Much love to you all…

Be well.
God bless you,
Fr. Nigel+

The Rev. Nigel W D Mumford+
Director, The Oratory of Christ the healer,
Christ the King Spiritual Life Center
575 Burton Road, Greenwich, NY 12834

(518)692-9550
healing@ctkcenter.org
http://www.ctkcenter.org

Albany Intercessor


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers