Israel–Iran

September 12, 2011

From Fox:

Benjamin Netanyahu spoke at a memorial Sunday marking the anniversary of the attacks in the U.S.

In the speech, he repeated a long-standing plea to the world to prevent Iran from developing nuclear weapons. Israel considers Iran a serious threat because of its nuclear program, support for anti-Israel militants and frequent references to Israel’s destruction.

Netanyahu said the “the possibility that the world’s most dangerous weapons will fall into the hands of the world’s most dangerous regimes is too real.”

Psalm 27:1,11-14 (NIV)
1 The LORD is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The LORD is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?
11 Teach me your way, LORD;
lead me in a straight path
because of my oppressors.
12 Do not turn me over to the desire of my foes,
for false witnesses rise up against me,
spouting malicious accusations.
13 I remain confident of this:
I will see the goodness of the LORD
in the land of the living.
14 Wait for the LORD;
be strong and take heart
and wait for the LORD.

May it be so for Israel, dear Lord. Amen.


Psalm 57:1-3

September 12, 2011

Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me! For my soul trusts in you; (Psalm 57:1a)
      O God, grant me your mercy, for I am a weak and sinful man.

And in the shadow of your wings I will make my refuge, until these calamities have passed by. (Psalm 57:1b)
      Jesus, how often you have desired to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings and we would not (See Matthew 23:37). Help us now repent and find our shelter and refuge in the shadow of your wings.

I will cry out to God Most High, to God who performs all things for me. (Psalm 57:2)
      Father, in your mercy help me to do what I cannot. Help me daily recognize my need for your help.

He shall send from heaven and save me; he reproaches the one who would swallow me up. od shall send forth his mercy and his truth. (Psalm 57:3)
      Holy Spirit, come and fill my heart with your mercy and truth.

A word received: Pray for my people to let go of the burden of resentment and not forgiving others who have wronged them.

Monday: 56, 57, [58] * 64, 65; 1 Kings 21:1-16 1 Cor. 1:1-19 Matthew 4:1-11
Tuesday: 61, 62 * 68:1-20(21-23)24-36; 1 Kings 21:17-29 1 Cor. 1:20-31 Matthew 4:12-17

Albany Intercessor


The exuberant earth

September 12, 2011

Psalm 27:13 (MSG)
I’m sure now I’ll see God’s goodness in the exuberant earth.

Fissured lava, alluvial fan,
Amphibolite, biotite, bedrock, and sand–
Manifest God’s glory, exuberant earth.

Caves, sinkholes, karst, and kettle,
Kimberlite pipes and quicksilver metal–
Exalt His name! Reveal His glory!
Show His goodness and tell His story.