John 4:28-30, 39-42 and Sunday School Lesson

The woman then left her waterpot, went her way into the city, and said to the men, “Come, see a man who told me all things that I ever did. Could this be the Christ?” Then they went out of the city and came to him. (John 4:28-30)
      Jesus, please help us understand the power of public testimony in bringing people to you. Please open the door in every parish for people to give witness to the way that you have worked in their lives.

And many of the Samaritans of that city believed in him because of the word of the woman who testified, “He told me all that I ever did.” So when the Samaritans had come to him, they urged him to stay with them; and he stayed there two days. And many more believed because of his own word. Then they said to the woman, “Now we believe, not because of what you said, for we ourselves have heard him and we know that this is indeed the Christ, the Savior of the world.” (John 4:39-42)
      Holy Spirit, the woman’s testimony brought many to a direct, personal encounter with Jesus. Please let that kind of testimony produce such fruit in all our parishes and communities and at the Diocesan Convention.

STUDY GUIDE: SUNDAY SCHOOL LESSON 16, January 22, 2012
Theme Verse: Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and aliens, but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of God’s household, built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone. In him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a holy temple in the Lord. And in him you too are being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by his Spirit. (Ephesians 2:19-22)
Readings: Mark 1:14-20. 1 Corinthians 7:17-23; Jeremiah 3:21-4:2; Psalm 130
Memory Verse: If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. (John 15:5b)
Next Week: Mark 1:21-28; 1 Corinthians 8:1-13; Deuteronomy 18:15-20; Psalm 111

A word received: I want to build you into the church I want. I AM the foundation and cornerstone. Look to me — let me build you up by my Holy Spirit and my word.

      Gospel: Mark 1:14-20

A word received: Those are the kind of disciples that I am looking for: men and women, youth and children who will immediately drop what they are doing at my word and follow me.

      Epistle: 1 Corinthians 7:17-23

A word received: I want you to find your freedom in me.

      Old Testament: Jeremiah 3:21-4:2

A word received: Fruitfulness comes from me. Pray for my backsliding people to return to me.

      Psalm: Psalm 130

A word received: Cry out to me from the desolate and broken places in your lives. I will hear you.

Saturday: 30, 32 * 42, 43; Gen. 12:9-13:1: Heb. 7:18-28: John 4:27-42
Sunday: 63:1-8(9-11), 98 * 103; Gen. 13:2-18: Gal. 2:1-10: Mark 7:31-37
HC: 130; Jeremiah 3:21-4:2; 1 Corinthians 7:17-23; Mark 1:14-20

      Notes from the Front Line

***** Start now reading and reflecting on the lessons for Sunday (Mark 1:14-20. 1 Corinthians 7:17-23; Jeremiah 3:21-4:2; Psalm 130) so that you can receive all that God has for you.

***** Date: Fri, 20 Jan 2012
From: Nigel Mumford
Subject: Daily Quote…
      Have you ever limited God? I sure have! I am not happy that I have done that and fully intend to amend my ways. I am tying not to limit Him in my prayers,thoughts or actions especially when praying for others. Ephesians 3:20,21 writes, Glory to God whose power, working in us, can do infinitely more than we can ask or imagine: Glory to him from generation to generation in the Church, and in Christ Jesus for ever and ever. Amen.

Albany Intercessor

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

