Commentary on “Ashes to Go”

February 26, 2012

A lot of Anglican blogs have posted stories this year about various churches offering “Ashes to Go” – coming to a public venue (such as in front of a Starbucks) and offering the imposition of ashes on Ash Wednesday.

I’ve not done enough reading to really reflect and comment on the practice, but there’s a really nice commentary at Creedal Christian for those wanting to reflect further on the pros & cons.


From Mark 1

February 26, 2012

IMMEDIATELY the Spirit drove him into the wilderness. (Mark 1:12)

They IMMEDIATELY left their nets and followed him. (Mark 1:18 )

And IMMEDIATELY he called them, and they left their father Zebedee in the boat with the hired servants, and went after him. (Mark 1:20)

Then they went into Capernaum, and IMMEDIATELY on the Sabbath he entered the synagogue and taught. (Mark 1:21)

And IMMEDIATELY his fame spread throughout all the region around Galilee. (Mark 1:28 )

So he came and took her by the hand and lifted her up, and IMMEDIATELY the fever left her. And she served them. (Mark 1:31)

As soon as he had spoken, IMMEDIATELY the leprosy left him, and he was cleansed. (Mark 1:42)

      Jesus, there is an “IMMEDIATELY” that came into your life from the Holy Spirit at your baptism and I see that same “IMMEDIATELY” in the disciples response to your call to them. I want that same “IMMEDIATELY” in my life. Please baptize me afresh with your Holy Spirit so that I can “IMMEDIATELY” respond to his promptings. Thank you.

Sunday: 63:1-8(9-11), 98 * 103; Dan. 9:3-10: Heb. 2:10-18: John 12:44-50
HC: Mark 1:9-13; 1 Peter 3:18-22; Genesis 9:8-17; 25 or 25:3-9
Monday: 41, 52 * 44; Gen. 37:1-11: 1 Cor. 1:1-19: Mark 1:1-13

      Notes from the Front Line

***** Start now reading and reflecting on the lessons for Sunday so that you can receive all that God has for you (Mark 8:31-38; Romans 8:31-39; Genesis 22:1-14; Psalm 16 or 16:5-11).

***** Date: Sat, 25 Feb 2012
From: Nigel Mumford
Subject: Daily quote…
      This Lent, keep searching, don’t stop looking. You will find Him. You will fill the void in your heart. Fill that void with “The Word” of God. Jeremiah 29:13 writes, “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

Dear souls,
      Please pray for my father The Rev. David Mumford who was admitted to the hospital last night in the UK. He was kept over night. Please also pray for my mum Jean. Thank you so very much indeed. God bless you.

Albany Intercessor


Lent Meditation – George Herbert: On Repentance

February 26, 2012
Repentance
Lord, I confess my sin is great:
Great is my sin. Oh! gently treat
With thy quick flower, thy momentary bloom ;
Whose life still pressing
Is one undressing,
A steady aiming at a tomb.
          Man’s age is two hours’ work, or three;
Each day doth round about us see.
Thus are we to delights: but we are all
To sorrows old,
If life be told
From what life feeleth, Adam’s fall.
          O let thy height of mercy then
Compassionate short-breathed men,
Cut me not off for my most foul transgression:
I do confess
My foolishness;
My God, accept of my confession.
          Sweeten at length this bitter bowl,
Which thou hast pour’d into my soul;
Thy wormwood turn to health, winds to fair weather;
For if thou stay,
I and this day,
As we did rise, we die together.
by George Herbert 1593-1633
Thanks to On A Joyful Journey blog for reminding me of this poem

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers