Lent – cleaning house / cleaning our souls

I found the following reflection in the process of following various links for Lent devotionals at diverse blogs last week.  I apologize that I can’t remember whom to give a hat tip to for directing me to this excellent devotional by an Orthodox blogger comparing her messy house (and the ways she typically tries to avoid it or tame the mess)  to her messy soul… it’s a powerful analogy!

It’s embarrassingly remarkable really, how, despite talking about the mess, obsessing over the mess, buying stuff to tame the mess, at the end of the day my house remains no cleaner than before. Unless I bite the bullet, roll up my sleeves and surrender to the terribly untitillating  effort required to transform that which is hectic into an oasis of calmness and simplicity, peace will elude me.  [...]

Yes, it’s my soul I’m alluding to here, my disheveled soul, which I’m too distracted on my own to recognize is in need of some serious TLC so the Church, out of Love, points its cluttered state out to me.  And she knows I’m too weak to care for it all by my lonesome, so here I am, hand-in-hand with an entire community of Orthodox Christians from all around the world at the starting line of a Church assigned season of quiet prayer, reflection and preparation.   We simplify our diets, which aids in controlling our impulsivities. Mindless gorging, speaking, reacting or spending is terribly addictive and counterproductive, not to mention spiritually deafening. We attend Church services, beautiful services, lengthy and frequent services so imperative for keeping us focused on the aim at hand, and accessing the Christ hungry depths of our spirits too often smothered by earthly diversions.

[...]  Lent is not a pass/fail endeavor – it’s not a test, but rather a mystical means of healing and enlightenment I’d be very, very foolish not to take advantage of. The work of fasting won’t make God love me more – I’m very thankful to already, no matter what I do or don’t do, be loved by Him unconditionally. On my prayerful days, my forgetful days, my relapse days, my exhausted days, He is forgiving and full of grace. It will however affect the quality and fruitfulness of my day-to-day life here on earth. Waking up to a soul that’s been tended to feels tranquil and meaningful. I’m more generous, hospitable, courageous, patient, when I’m a good and faithful steward of my spiritual blessings.

Come, my fellow laborers, let us pace ourselves together, and with joy, throughout these forty days of work. Let us prune, water and feed our souls that Love may bloom , remaining confident, always secure in the promise that on the other side of our Lenten efforts lies the victorious Resurrection of all Life, all Purpose and  all Hope!

The full reflection is here. 

A good reminder and exhortation!  I highly recommend reading the full blog entry as it’s really a powerful reflection on decreasing the “clutter” in our spiritual lives, and the wonderful opportunity Lent gives us to be refreshed and renewed in the Lord’s presence.


One Response to Lent – cleaning house / cleaning our souls

  1. hello.. God at work.I was tuly delighted to read the comparison of cleaning the house with the soul. What was most delightful was that I had used this analogy myself from my own prayer in a monthly paper called Encouragement which I wrote ( this time) and send out.
    Have a look,… wwwthehostapostolate.org.
    many thanks.
    Halina Holman

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

