Musical Prayers: A Heart for You, Scott Wesley Brown

As this week’s “Musical Prayer Series” offering, I’m posting the song “A Heart for You” by CCM veteran Scott Wesley Brown (SWB).

SWB is best-known for his albums in the 70′s and 80′s.  A few of his popular songs from that era include “I’m not religious, I just love the Lord,” “I wish you Jesus,”  “This is the day (a wedding song).”  But he has released some new albums and music collections in recent years, including the great 2005 album “Old Hymns Made New.”  The song I’m posting today is from his 2003 worship collection “A Heart for You” – which is something I just recently discovered, as I think it’s only been quite recently released to iTunes.

This song is simple, yet beautiful.   And the words are a prayer I need to pray frequently.  Too often my love for the Lord can evaporate like morning dew in the heat of the day’s pressures and stresses…

The song is available here, at You Tube

The lyrics:

More than any treasure my hands could hold
More than any dream come true
More than any pleasure this world could give
One thing I will pursue
More than all the honors sought by men
More than any great reward
More than all the wisdom of ages past
One thing I will seek for:

A heart for You
A thirst for You
To quench my soul
Like morning dew
To seek Your face, Your holy place
O Lord, create in me
A Heart for You

One Response to Musical Prayers: A Heart for You, Scott Wesley Brown

  1. [...] Scott Wesley Brown. This song is simple, yet beautiful. And the … … Original post: Musical Prayers: A Heart for You, Scott Wesley Brown « Lent & Beyond ← Poetry, Prayer, and Praise: A Flower a Day for Mary in May Christian Education Plus: [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

