A Musical Confession for Lent: Crippled Soul, by Sojourn

I was feeling restless and troubled yesterday about many things – especially the state of my own heart.  As I often do, I turned to music to help quiet my heart and help me turn to God.  But no familiar song seemed to echo what I needed to hear or wanted to pray.  So I went searching online for ….. something …  I’m honestly not sure how I stumbled on music by the Nashville worship group Sojourn, and just the song I needed to hear at this point in Lent, but I’m glad I did.  – Karen.

Crippled Soul:  LISTEN HERE

Oh, my crippled soul
So broken with my sin
With a nature so depraved
I’m so ashamed, so afraid
If I bring it up again
If you really look again
Will you change your mind
And never let me in

O Lord, please do anything but leave me here
Let me run again, or help me fly,
Or somehow make it right
But Lord, please don’t leave me here

And I hate what I am
All these things that you despise
The depravity that seems to be
At the core of who I am
So hide me from myself
Let me pretend I’m someone else
Someone with a pure
And holy heart

Is it any wonder then
That I should love to fly
Those moments when I touch you
And escape all that I am
Is it any wonder then
That I should do all that I can
To make it seem like I am whole
And worthy

Tell me Lord, what do you want
Do you plan to make me whole
Or leave me broken
And bring glory through your grace

- Rebecca Dennison

You can listen for free online to Sojourn’s music.  There are quite a number of songs on various albums that are very appropriate for Lent, including many songs adapted from hymns by Isaac Watts.  I intend to listen to more of their music…

Check out Over the GraveThe Water and the Blood  and Come Ye Sinners.  Learn more about Sojourn here.

One Response to A Musical Confession for Lent: Crippled Soul, by Sojourn

  1. […] A Musical Confession for Lent: Crippled Soul, by Sojourn […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

