Graduation invocation

Last year, my husband, Rev. George F. Woodliff III, wrote and delivered this invocation at our daughter’s high school graduation.  I posted it on Lent & Beyond, and it has remained our single most frequently read prayer.  On Googling “graduation invocation,” it is at the top of the list!  – JW 

Father, we invite and invoke Your divine presence at this graduation ceremony and to be with these graduates.
We ask that from this day forward You help them to remember Your Son Jesus and His words:
–As they walk out the door of _____ and through other doors in their lives, help them to remember that Jesus said, “I am the door.”
–As they seek enlightenment through greater knowledge, help them to remember that Jesus said, “I am the light of the world.”
–As they seek their path through life and are tempted by many distractions, help them to remember that Jesus said, “I am the way.”
–As they seek to understand the deeper and ultimate meaning of their lives, help them to remember that Jesus said, “I am the truth.”
–As they seek fulfillment and the pursuit of happiness, help them to remember that Jesus said, “I am the life–abundant and eternal life.”

Father, watch over them, protect them, provide for them, guard them, guide them, and give them Your grace to enable them to persevere to the end. In Jesus’s name. Amen.

UPDATE: Those who wish to use this invocation as written have permission to do so.

8 Responses to Graduation invocation

  1. Katie says:

    would you please email me as soon as you can. I have a very important question to ask you

  2. Daniel says:

    I was looking for an invocation for the opening of the pinning exercises for our nursing graduates. I liked this invocation and I am going to use it, 5/10/10. Thank you.
    the Reverend Dr. Daniel E. Fullerton, Professor of Ethics and Religion

  3. Shannon McKinney says:

    I am a tutor at Academy for Keener Minds, a Christian Home School, in Clarksville, TN. We have 12 graduates this year. Tomorrow, 26 June 2010, is our graduation ceremony. I was asked to deliver the invocation and am so very happy to say to you, Thank you. Rev. Woodliff’s words are exactly the words that were in my heart. Thank you again for allowing people to use this invocation speech. I am studying to become a High School math teacher, although, I do not plan to work in any public school system. I will be staying with this Christian home school because I believe that all children deserve the best education. The best education includes lessons on the Bible, Christ our Saviour, and Loving one another. Thank you again. God bless you. Shannon McKinney

  4. nicolie says:

    hi this is a very nice invocation, may i use this for our graduation?

  5. nicolie says:

    im going to use this prayer for our graduation this is perfect thanks:)

  6. Kristin Cook says:

    Thank you so much for this prayer. This is EXACTLY what I wanted our graduates to hear! Will be using this tonight at high school graduation!

  7. Sister Frances says:

    I might use some of the ideas from this prayer for an invocation at a small university graduation ceremony tomorrow. Thank you for sharing it with others and allowing us to be inspired by it and use it as we need to do so. Peace and all good,
    Sister Frances

  8. roxan says:

    thnx for ds prayer i also goin to use it for our graduation

Leave a Reply

