Lent Prayers: Martin Luther – You are my righteousness, I am your sin

Once again, I’m indebted to Trevin Wax at Kingdom People and his great compilation of prayers.  The following prayer from Martin Luther is based on a Romanian translation.

What great hope this prayer / statement of confession brings!  In Christ we can become what we were not.  Amen!

Lord Jesus,
You are my righteousness,
I am your sin.

You took on you what was mine;
yet set on me what was yours.

You became what you were not,
that I might become what I was not.

Martin Luther

One Response to Lent Prayers: Martin Luther – You are my righteousness, I am your sin

  1. Lucy says:

    Lent prayers are really beautiful. This one, based on a Romanian translation of Martin Luther’s prayer is especially beautiful.

    I am wondering if the prayes have been translated from other languages. I particularily like to listen different language versions of Pater Noster – it really shows common roots of various languages!

Leave a Reply

