A Good Friday Hymn: In Evil Long I Took Delight

April 2014 – see the end of the post for an update.

This hymn by John Newton was part of the famous “Olney Hymnal”  of 1779.  (available online at CCEL) You can hear the tune at the Cyber Hymnal

In evil long I took delight,
Unawed by shame or fear,
Till a new object struck my sight,
And stopped my wild career.

I saw One hanging on a tree,
In agonies and blood,
Who fixed His languid eyes on me,
As near His cross I stood.

Sure, never till my latest breath,
Can I forget that look;
It seemed to charge me with His death,
Though not a word He spoke.

My conscience felt and owned the guilt,
And plunged me in despair,
I saw my sins His blood had spilt,
And helped to nail Him there.

Alas, I knew not what I did,
But now my tears are vain;
Where shall my trembling soul be hid?
For I the Lord have slain.

A second look He gave, which said,
“I freely all forgive;
This blood is for thy ransom paid;
I die that thou mayst live.”

Thus, while His death my sin displays
In all its blackest hue,
Such is the mystery of grace,
It seals my pardon too.

With pleasing grief and mournful joy,
My spirit is now filled;
That I should such a life destroy,
Yet live by him I killed.

John Newton

***

Song Writer and worship leader Bob Kauflin has written a modern arrangement / adaptation of this hymn.  He reflects on the meaning of the lyrics as follows.  (see below for an update)

For years, C.J. Mahaney referred to a John Newton hymn that began with the lines, “In evil long I took delight.” Newton imagines the Savior looking down at him twice from the cross. The first look communicates our guilt and responsibility for the death of Christ. The second look assures us that this sacrifice forever secures our forgiveness before God. The two looks together fill us with a “pleasing grief and mournful joy.”

***

2014 Update:  I’ve posted an updated entry with current links to a video with the modern adaptation of the hymn, and links to purchase it, as well as an audio recording of John Newton’s original hymn.

One Response to A Good Friday Hymn: In Evil Long I Took Delight

  1. […] in 2010 we posted the lyrics to John Newton’s hymn In Evil Long I Took Delight.  At the time, I referenced a modern adaptation of this classic hymn by Bob Kauflin of Sovereign […]

Leave a Reply

