Exodus 33:17-23

So the Lord said to Moses, “I will also do this thing that you have spoken; for you have found grace in my sight, and I know you by name.” (Exodus 33:17)
      Father, help us find grace in you sight; help us know you by name.

And he said, “Please, show me your glory.” (Exodus 33:18 )
      Father, show us your glory. Please reveal your glory as we worship you at the Diocesan Convention.

Then he said, “I will make all my goodness pass before you, and I will proclaim the name of the Lord before you. I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.” (Exodus 33:19)
      Jesus, we ask you to have compassion on us in our weakness.

But he said, “You cannot see my face; for no man shall see me, and live.” (Exodus 33:20)
      Father, help us accept and live by the boundaries you have set for us.

And the Lord said, “Here is a place by me, and you shall stand on the rock. (Exodus 33:21)
      Jesus, you are the rock we want to stand on. You are the rock that does not move or shake.

So it shall be, while my glory passes by, that I will put you in the cleft of the rock, and will cover you with my hand while I pass by. (Exodus 33:22)
      Father, please hide us in that cleft of the rock where you pass by.

Then I will take away my hand, and you shall see my back; but my face shall not be seen.” (Exodus 33:23)
      Father, reveal yourself to us by your Holy Spirit. Help us come to know you more each day and love you more. Thank you.

Rock of Ages, Cleft for Me
Text: Augustus M. Toplady, 1740-1778
Music: Thomas Hastings, 1784-1872
Tune: TOPLADY, Meter: 77.77.77
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gM7gt_cSxjw&feature=related

1.      Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
      let me hide myself in thee;
      let the water and the blood,
      from thy wounded side which flowed,
      be of sin the double cure;
      save from wrath and make me pure.

2.      Not the labors of my hands
      can fulfill thy law’s commands;
      could my zeal no respite know,
      could my tears forever flow,
      all for sin could not atone;
      thou must save, and thou alone.

3.      Nothing in my hand I bring,
      simply to the cross I cling;
      naked, come to thee for dress;
      helpless, look to thee for grace;
      foul, I to the fountain fly;
      wash me, Savior, or I die.

4.      While I draw this fleeting breath,
      when mine eyes shall close in death,
      when I soar to worlds unknown,
      see thee on thy judgment throne,
      Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
      let me hide myself in thee.

Wednesday: 49,[53]; Exodus 33:1-23; 1 Thessalonians 2:1-12; Matthew 5:17-20
Thursday: [59,60] or 114, 115; Exodus 34:1-17; 1 Thessalonians 2:13-20; Matthew 5:21-26

      Notes from the Front Line

Check out “Here I Am to Worship” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoxopsRSfdU&feature=fvw

***** Pray for a move of the Holy Spirit at the Diocesan Convention. Thank you.

Albany Intercessor

Leave a Reply

