Romans 15:7-13

November 26, 2010

Therefore receive one another, just as Christ also received us, to the glory of God. (Romans 15:7)
      Jesus, you received us while we were still sinners; please help us receive everyone you send us so that we may bring glory to our God and Father.

Now I say that Jesus Christ has become a servant to the circumcision for the truth of God, to confirm the promises made to the fathers, (Romans 15:8 )
      Holy Spirit, please help us become servants of Christ to all you send us to.

and that the Gentiles might glorify God for his mercy, as it is written: “For this reason I will confess to you among the Gentiles, and sing to your name.” (Romans 15:9)
      Father, please help us confess and sing the praises of Jesus’ name wherever we go.

And again he says: “Rejoice, O Gentiles, with his people!” (Romans 15:10)
      A word received 8/12/10: Rejoice!

And again: “Praise the Lord, all you Gentiles! Laud him, all you peoples!” (Romans 15:11)
      Holy Trinity, one God, we laud and praise your name!

And again, Isaiah says: “There shall be a root of Jesse; and he who shall rise to reign over the Gentiles, In him the Gentiles shall hope.” (Romans 15:12)
      Jesus, take root in our hearts and fill us with hope.

Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. (Romans 15:13)
      Come, Holy Spirit, fill us with hope and joy in God’s love for us through his son Jesus Christ. Thank you. Amen.

Words received for Lectionary A, First Sunday of Advent
Gospel: Matthew 24:36-44: A word received: What are you doing to be ready for my coming?

Epistle: Romans 13:8-14: A word received: Your job is to be about my (underline my) business. I want you to build one another up in me.

Old Testament: Isaiah 2:1-5: A word received: Pray for my people to learn my ways. I long for them to come to me and for my word to take root in their hearts. You can only know my (underline my) peace by coming to me.

Psalm: Psalm 122: A word received: Come, stand in my courts. Let me make you glad with my presence.

Friday: 140, 142; * 141, 143:1-11(12); Zechariah 14:1-11; Romans 15:7-13; Luke 19:28-40
Saturday: 137:1-6(7-9), 144; * 104; Zechariah 14:12-21; Philippians 2:1-11; Luke 19:41-48

      Notes from the Front Line

***** Prayer requests from Willowfield parish in Belfast, Northern Ireland:
Date: Thu, 25 Nov 2010
From: HUGH BOWMAN
Subject: Website – Prayer Request
Details of Prayer Request: Helen Lowry commencing Chemotherapy next week.

***** Question: Does your parish website have a place where people can enter prayer requests to be circulated to your parish prayer line for prayer?

Albany Intercessor


Like a mural on a wall

November 26, 2010

God Almighty,
You are Sovereign Lord. You are El Olam and see the end from the beginning. You are Jehovah-jireh, the God of all provision. You are Jehovah-mekaddishkem, and You sacrificed Your Son Christ Jesus for for my sins.
Extend Your peace into my heart. Release Your sweet, sweet peace to rest within its chambers like a mural on a wall.
I rest upon You, Lord. Let the weight of Your peace rest upon the tablets of my heart. Amen.