Matthew 20:1-16 and Sunday School Lesson

“For the kingdom of heaven is like a landowner who went out early in the morning to hire laborers for his vineyard. Now when he had agreed with the laborers for a denarius a day, he sent them into his vineyard. And he went out about the third hour and saw others standing idle in the marketplace, and said to them, ‘You also go into the vineyard, and whatever is right I will give you.’ So they went. Again he went out about the sixth and the ninth hour, and did likewise. And about the eleventh hour he went out and found others standing idle, and said to them, ‘Why have you been standing here idle all day?’ They said to him, ‘Because no one hired us.’ He said to them, ‘You also go into the vineyard, and whatever is right you will receive.'” (Matthew 20:1-7)
      Lord Jesus, we cry out to you for all those who have not yet responded to your call to go out to labor in your vineyard — move their hearts to action.

“So when evening had come, the owner of the vineyard said to his steward, ‘Call the laborers and give them their wages, beginning with the last to the first.’ And when those came who were hired about the eleventh hour, they each received a denarius. But when the first came, they supposed that they would receive more; and they likewise received each a denarius.” (Matthew 20:8-10)
      Father, thank you that your free gift of salvation is the same for all of us; help each of us joyfully receive what you offer through your son Jesus.

“And when they had received it, they complained against the landowner, saying, ‘These last men have worked only one hour, and you made them equal to us who have borne the burden and the heat of the day.'” (Matthew 20:11-12)
      Holy Spirit, help us repent of our grumbling about the provision we receive for our labor for the kingdom.

“But he answered one of them and said, ‘Friend, I am doing you no wrong. Did you not agree with me for a denarius? Take what is yours and go your way. I wish to give to this last man the same as to you. Is it not lawful for me to do what I wish with my own things? Or is your eye evil because I am good?'” (Matthew 20:13-15)
      Father, it is your kingdom and you are free to do with us your servants as you please.

      I am no longer my own but yours.
      Put me to what you will,
      rank me with whom you will;
      put me to doing, put me to suffering;
      let me be employed for you or laid aside for you,
      exalted for you or brought low for you;
      let me be full, let me be empty,
      let me have all things, let me have nothing;
      I freely and wholeheartedly yield all things
      to your pleasure and disposal.
      And now, glorious and blessèd God,
      Father, Son and Holy Spirit,
      you are mine and I am yours.
      So be it.
      And the covenant now made on earth,
      let it be ratified in heaven. Amen.
      From the Watch Night Service by John Wesley.

“So the last will be first, and the first last. For many are called, but few chosen.” (Matthew 20:16)
      Jesus, so many of us are called and so few have answered your call. Help us daily seek out the work you have set for us to do.

      Holy Spirit, move in the hearts of the clergy and people of those parishes that were untouched by the recent floods to reach out to those parishes and communities that were devastated by the floods. Help us hear their cries for help and answer your call to go into the vineyard to labor.

A word received: Pray for my will to be accomplished in this nation.

Sunday: 93, 96 * 34; 2 Kings 4:8-37 Acts 9:10-31 Luke 3:7-18
HC: 145 or 145:1-8; Jonah 3:10-4:11; Philippians 1:21-27; Matthew 20:1-16
Monday: 80 * 77, [79]; 2 Kings 5:1-19 1 Cor. 4:8-21 Matthew 5:21-26

      Notes from the Front Line

***** STUDY GUIDE: SUNDAY SCHOOL LESSON 01, September 18, 2011
Theme Verse: 19Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and aliens, but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of God’s household, 20built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone. 21In him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a holy temple in the Lord. 22And in him you too are being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by his Spirit. (Ephesians 2:19-22)
Readings: Matthew 20:1-16; Philippians 1:1-11; Jonah 3:1-10; Psalm 145:1-8
Memory Verse: Then he said to them, “Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” (Matthew 4:19)
Next Week: Matthew 21:28-32; Philippians 2:1-18; Ezekiel 18:1-4, 25-32; Psalm 25:3-9

A word received on Ephesians 2:19-22: I want to build you into the church I want. I AM the foundation and cornerstone. Look to me — let me build you up by my Holy Spirit and my word.

“Unless the LORD builds the house, they labor in vain who build it.” (Psalm 127:1a) A word received in 2006: Let me build up Christ Church. Seek me. Seek my ways. I AM the Master Builder, you are apprentices. Look to me for instructions for Christ Church. [Also] Pray with hope.

      Gospel: Matthew 20:1-16
A word received: I want my people to turn to me in expectation that I will do what is right in my sight. You will never be content working for me if you apply the world’s standards. Turn to me and look to me for what is truly right.

      Epistle: Philippians 1:1-11
A word received: Paul is writing this letter in chains [See verse 7]. He is a prisoner for the sake of the gospel. I told him when I called him what awaited him [See Acts 9:16]. Are you prepared for the hard times for my sake?

      Old Testament: Jonah 3:1-10
A word received: I have given Jonah a second chance to speak my word and do my will. I will give you a second chance to be faithful to my call to you. Be ready to start out again on the path I have laid out for you.

      Psalm: Psalm 145:1-8
Every day I will bless you, and I will praise your name forever and ever. (Psalm 145:2) A word received: I want you to bless me every day, no matter what your circumstances.

Albany Intercessor

Leave a comment