“Tell us, Mary, what did you see?”

An updated version of an Easter post from our 2007 archives – (with three added musical selections, and additional artwork). 

It’s my prayer this morning that I and we all will be joyful and bold witnesses of the Risen Christ, declaring the new life we have found in Him, even as Mary did.

***

Tell us, Mary, what did you see
that early morning
on your way?

“I saw his tomb,
I saw the glory of Christ,
now risen,
angels who gave witness.
I saw the cloths
that covered his head and body.
I heard him speak my name
and turning, saw he was alive
At daybreak
I came weeping to the garden
for the one I lost.
But now, the Sun risen,
it was paradise,
and I, a new Eve,
had news of life for all the living.”

source: Victor Hoagland, from the Passionist website’s Easter meditations page

Art Credit: Fra Angelico, “Resurrection of Christ and Women at the Tomb” Fresco, 1440-1441, Convento di San Marco, Florence via Web Gallery of Art

***

LISTEN: 

See What A Morning (Resurrection Hymn), by Stuart Townend – one of my favorite contemporary Easter hymns. (iTunes link)

Alive (the link is to an excellent devotional video of the song, with lyrics, at GodTube). This song, written by Nichole Nordeman and sung by Natalie Grant, is from the amazing album Music Inspired by the Story.

and finally, the CCM classic Mary, by DeGarmo & Key, from their 1979 album Staight On (iTunes link).

***

The women running from the tomb

Art credit

Leave a Reply

