How Shall I Sing That Majesty?

One of my favorite recent blog finds (discovered during Lent 2012) is the Rev. Patrick Comerford’s blog. (The Rev. Comerford is Canon at Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin, Ireland).  Today in his post for the Seventh Sunday of Easter – the Sunday between Ascension Day and Pentecost, he mentions one of his favorite hymns:  How Shall I Sing That Majesty.

It’s a hymn I did not know – but what a wonderful hymn of adoration!

How shall I sing that majesty
Which angels do admire?
Let dust in dust and silence lie;
Sing, sing, ye heavenly choir.
Thousands of thousands stand around
Thy throne, O God most high;
Ten thousand times ten thousand sound
Thy praise; but who am I?

Thy brightness unto them appears,
Whilst I Thy footsteps trace;
A sound of God comes to my ears,
But they behold Thy face.
They sing because Thou art their sun;
Lord, send a beam on me;
For where heaven is but once begun
There alleluias be.

Enlighten with faith’s light my heart,
Inflame it with love’s fire;
Then shall I sing and bear a part
With that celestial choir.
I shall, I fear, be dark and cold,
With all my fire and light;
Yet when Thou dost accept their gold,
Lord, treasure up my mite.

How great a being, Lord, is Thine,
Which doth all beings keep!
Thy knowledge is the only line
To sound so vast a deep.
Thou art a sea without a shore,
A sun without a sphere;
Thy time is now and evermore,
Thy place is everywhere.

You can hear the tune played on the Salisbury Cathedral Organ here.

3 Responses to How Shall I Sing That Majesty?

  1. […] How Shall I Sing That Majesty? […]

  2. […] in 2012 I blogged about this hymn – having newly discovered it via a blog post by Patrick Comerford.  (Patrick Comerford later […]

Leave a Reply

