John 6:35-40

January 2, 2013

And Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me shall never hunger, and he who believes in me shall never thirst. (John 6:35)
      Jesus, please help me to come to you; help me to believe in you.

But I said to you that you have seen me and yet do not believe. (John 6:36)
      Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

All that the Father gives me will come to me, and the one who comes to me I will by no means cast out. (John 6:37)
      Father, draw me to Jesus day by day.

For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will, but the will of him who sent me. (John 6:38 )
      Holy Spirit, help me daily surrender my will as Jesus did.

This is the will of the Father who sent me, that of all he has given me I should lose nothing, but should raise it up at the last day. (John 6:39)
      Jesus, please raise me up at that last day to new and complete life in you.

And this is the will of him who sent me, that everyone who sees the Son and believes in him may have everlasting life; and I will raise him up at the last day.” (John 6:40)
      Father, help me to abide in your will.

A word received: It is hard for you to hear me. It is hard but I have said the way to me is narrow. Lean into me and do not give up. Remember that when you are yoked with me, I will show you the way.

A word received (parish vision word): I want my people to reach out to the community.

Jan. 2: 34 * 33; Gen. 12:1-7; Heb. 11:1-12; John 6:35-42, 48-51
Jan. 3: 68 * 72**; Gen. 28:10-22; Heb. 11:13-22; John 10:7-17

Albany Intercessor

Anima Christi

January 2, 2013

Soul of Christ, sanctify me
Body of Christ, save me
Blood of Christ, inebriate me
Water from the side of Christ, wash me
Passion of Christ, strengthen me
O good Jesus, hear me
Within Thy wounds hide me
Separated from Thee let me never be (“Permit me not to be separated from Thee”)
From the malicious enemy defend me (“From the malignant enemy defend me”)
In the hour of my death call me
And bid me come unto Thee
That I may praise Thee with Thy saints (“That with thy Saints I may praise Thee”)
Forever and ever Amen


Christmas carol, for Syria 2013

January 2, 2013

From the Anglican Communion website:

Prayer

Christmas carol, for Syria 2013

Refugee baby, born in the night
Shepherds are coming, led by starlight
Mary is holding you, shining with love
Joseph is singing to heaven above.
Refugee baby, born in a cave
Animals give you the warmth that they have,
Soon you must move on, long journey to make
Egypt will shelter you, for God’s own sake.
Refugee baby, loved by us all
Help us to follow the way that you call
Follow your footprints through history’s sands
Sharing with love what we gain from your hands:
Bread for the hungry, bread for the poor
Bread for the wounded, bereaved and heart-sore
Bethlehem bread that will freely be given
Refugee baby, our gateway to heaven.

Alan Amos, December 2013


