A Musical Prayer for an Ash Wednesday Evening

*Music links updated 2014*

It’s been a busy and hectic day.  Not how I’d planned to spend Ash Wednesday.  I want to quiet my heart and seek the Lord in prayer and His Word, inviting Him to examine my heart, but it’s hard to push aside all the whirling thoughts.

I decided some music might be helpful. In thinking about what to listen to, I remembered a CCM “oldie” by John Michael and Terry Talbot from their 1980 album, The Painter.

Create in me a clean heart, O Godclean heart

Let me be like You in all Your ways

Give me Your strength, teach me Your  song

Shelter me in the shadow of Your wings.

For we are Your righteousness,

if we’ve died to ourselves,

and live through Your death.

Then we shall be born again to be blessed in Your love.

Simple, beautiful harmonies, and very helpful to draw me into the Lord’s presence with a quiet heart.

You can also listen to this song at You Tube, here.  (Available to buy at iTunes)

art credit:  http://godcreatedlaughter.blogspot.com

2 Responses to A Musical Prayer for an Ash Wednesday Evening

  1. […] A Musical Prayer for an Ash Wednesday Evening […]

Leave a Reply

