Two Exciting Resources for Lent

Regrettably, I don’t think my schedule will allow for much, if any, Lenten blogging this year. It would have been fun to do a special Lenten series this year in honor of Lent & Beyond’s 10th anniversary. (We began in February 2004 at the beginning of Lent.)

But with Ash Wednesday quickly approaching, I wanted to at least quickly post about two excellent Lent resources:

1) Let us Keep the Feast: Epiphany & Lent

This is a short booklet (64 pages) that provides an overview of some of the history of Epiphany and Lenten observances and gives lots of simple, practical ideas for how to celebrate these seasons at home as a family.  I enjoyed the Advent edition of this series. Jessica Snell, who blogs at Homemaking Through the Church Year, and who is a good friend of this blog, is one of the editors.  Here’s the Amazon Link

2) Lenten music: Lent at Ephesus, Benedictines of Mary, Queen of the Apostles

When I logged into iTunes about 2 weeks ago, I was very excited to see a featured album of sacred music for Lent.   It’s a release of Lenten music by the Benedictine nuns at the Priory of our Lady of Ephesus.   I loved the album of Advent music these nuns put out two years ago, so this is sure to be another excellent choral feast of sacred music to aid in Lenten devotions.   I haven’t bought this yet.  I plan to download it next week if I can get a decent internet connection (our continual internet outages are yet another reason I’ve not been blogging lately…).  But if it’s anywhere near as good as the Advent at Ephesus album, it is VERY worth buying!  Here’s the iTunes link:  Lent at Ephesus

One Response to Two Exciting Resources for Lent

Leave a Reply

