Beautiful arrangement of “Hymn to God the Father (Wilt Thou Forgive)” today at the Biola Lent site

If you visit the Biola Lentan devotional site today, and click on the music link at the bottom of the page, you will be treated to a stunningly beautiful and powerful arrangement of John Donne’s Hymne to God the Father (Wilt Thou Forgive…) – one of my favorite Lenten hymns.

Here’s the link.

The hymn is performed by “The King’s Men,”  a six member, vocal a cappella ensemble from the Conservatory of Music at Biola University.

A Hymn to God the Father lyrics:

Wilt thou forgive that sin where I begun,
Which was my sin, though it were done before?
Wilt thou forgive that sin, through which I run,
And do run still, though still I do deplore?
When thou hast done, thou hast not done,
For I have more.

Wilt thou forgive that sin which I have won
Others to sin, and made my sin their door?
With thou forgive that sin which I did shun
A year or two, but wallowed in a score?
When thou hast done, thou hast not done,
For I have more

I have a sin of fear, that when I have spun
My last thread, I shall perish on the shore;
But swear by thyself, that at my death Thy Son
Shall shine as he shines now, and heretofore;
And having done that, Thou hast done;
I fear no more.

Note: this song does not appear to be available for purchase online either in CD or MP3 form.  I contacted those running the Biola Lent Project website, and they were kind enough to send me an MP3 version of the song.  It’s from the 1999 album by the King’s Men entitled Pure and Simple.   I’m uploading the song here as I don’t know whether the link to the Biola Lent Project site links will remain active once Lent has ended. 

Hymn to God the Father.  The King’s Men [Biola University].  From their 1999 album Pure and Simple.             My huge thanks to the Biola Center for Christianity, Culture and the Arts.

Leave a Reply

