A five minute Lent retreat: Fernando Ortega – I stretched out my hands

You don’t want to miss this!  A wonderful song by Fernando Ortega (which I just recently discovered on a fairly obscure album), accompanied by a video (more accurately moving impressionist art) which wonderfully illustrates the lyrics of the song.   The combination:  A five minute Lenten retreat wherever you are … !

The song is from an album released in 2008 : The Odes Project, volume 1

Here are the lyrics:

I Stretched Out My Hands (ODE 37)
©Schreiner/The Odes Project

I stretched out my hands to my Lord:
and to my God I raised my voice:
And I prayed with the voice of my heart;
and He heard my cry He heard my cry He heard my cry
Lord have mercy on me for I am a sinner
Lord have mercy on me for I am a sinner
I stretched out my hands to my Lord:
and to my God I raised my voice:
And I prayed with the voice of my heart;
and He heard my cry He heard my cry He heard my cry
Allelu, Alleluia, Allelu, Alleluia Allelu, Alleluia Alleluia
His Word came to me with His answer; with His answer His Word came to me
He gave rest for the weary by the grace of the Lord.
He gave rest for the weary by the grace of the Lord
Hallelujah
________________________________________
Ode 37
1. I stretched out my hands towards the Lord, and towards the Most High I raised my voice.
2. And I spoke with the lips of my heart, and He heard me when my voice reached Him.
3. His Word came towards me, in order to give me the fruits of my labors;
4. And gave me rest by the grace of the Lord.
Hallelujah

Leave a Reply

