Classic CCM songs for Holy Week from Christian Stephens: Look What You’ve Done, and Broken and Bleeding

christian-stephens-frontAs many of our regular readers will know, I (Karen) am a music lover. My tastes in Christian music are REALLY eclectic. (Yes, in the same week I have posted songs from rocker Mylon LeFevre and the Benedictine nuns of St. Mary of Ephesus…). But while I love good classical music, and also much contemporary worship music, there will always be a special place in my heart for some of the early Contemporary Christian Music of the 1970s and 80s. Those were the years when I was a new Christian and I had little fellowship. (My family attended an Episcopal church in the Diocese of Newark during the years of Bishop John Shelby Spong, need I say more?) Northern NJ seemed like a spiritual wasteland at times, but God used music in a wonderful way to deepen my knowledge of and love for Him.

It’s been a joy to discover that much of the music from that era is being made available in digital format. But a few of my favorite LPs still are not available on CD or online. One such LP is Christian Stephens’ eponymous release from 1980. There are several songs on that album that I listened to every Holy Week for many years….   A few years ago, I digitized my LP.  I thought it would be worth uploading a few songs here for Holy Week as I cannot find them anywhere online.  I pray these two songs bless our readers and help you quiet your heart to worship the Lord and rejoice afresh in His sacrifice, as they have helped me so many times to do.

[Note I will also post Christian Stephen’s  wonderful “trilogy” for the Triduum:  The Song of the Cross; The Descent; and Arise, on Friday and Saturday. Check back then.]

***

(There should be an embedded playlist above.  If there is no play arrow, or if the songs don’t play quickly, try these links: Look What You’ve Done  and Broken and Bleeding.)

Look What You’ve Done (Christian Stephens, 1980)

I was alone, You came to me
I was hurt, but You healed my pain
I was lost, You found me.
I was dying, but You gave me life.

I bow down before You.
O Lord my God how I adore You.
Look what You’ve done for me.

I was blind, You touched my eyes
I was crying, You took my tears away
I had no dream, You gave me hope
I was crippled, You taught me how to fly

Look what You’ve done, Look what You’ve done for me.
Look what You’ve done.

***

Broken and Bleeding (Christian Stephens, 1980)

 Well I saw my Lord as He passed by here
Stumbling ‘neath the weight of His cross, He was shedding a tear
But in His agony, I heard His spirit speak to mine, saying “come with me”

So I followed Him up to the top of Calvary
His screams shattered my soul as they nailed Him to the tree
And when they raised Him high, my heart was torn apart and I began to cry

Jesus I love You, broken and bleeding for me
Jesus I love You, broken and bleeding for me

Well the sky grew dark as the end drew near
The love within His eyes took away my fear
and once again He cried, lifted up His spirit, hung His head and died.

Jesus I love You, broken and bleeding for me
(Look what You’ve done)
Jesus I love You, broken and bleeding for me
(Look what You’ve done)

You died on the Cross
You gave Your life
You gave everything for me.
Out of Your love, You bled and died.
You died for me.

Jesus I love You, look what You’ve done for me
Jesus I love You, look what You’ve done for me

***

Note: the songs posted are digitized versions of my original vinyl album.  There are some scratches, etc.  I believe the album is out of print, but if anyone knows of a CD or digital version available for purchase, I would love to know so I can link it here and ensure royalties go to the artist.

10 Responses to Classic CCM songs for Holy Week from Christian Stephens: Look What You’ve Done, and Broken and Bleeding

  1. […] Yesterday I wrote about my love of certain classic CCM songs and albums from the 1970s and early 80s, and how good it is to increasingly find much of it available online.  A very surprising album to find online a few months ago was Mickey and Becki Moore’s Everything is Under Control (Wo Wo), from 1976.   I heard them in concert in my hometown in NJ twice while I was in high school.  As they produced most of their albums independently, it was a wonderful surprise to find most on iTunes. […]

  2. […] Wednesday I shared about a favorite out-of-print CCM album which has many great songs for Holy Week.….   I posted 2 songs from the album.  Today I’m posting another song from this album:  […]

  3. […] Wednesday I posted 2 songs:  Look What You’ve Done, and Broken and Bleeding.  On Friday, I posted Song of the Cross which is the first part of a trilogy of songs for the […]

  4. George says:

    The entire album and lyrics can be found here: http://www.zdadpa.com/cs

    My original word document was corrupted so I had to retype some lyrics and used your post to copy other lyrics (notable “Song of the Cross”). Hope you don’t mind.

    • Hi George,
      Apologies for the delay in replying. I’ve been traveling and not online much in the past 2 weeks. Thanks so much to the link to the whole Christian Stephens album. That’s awesome. Glad my post of the lyrics to Song of the Cross was helpful to you.

      Karen B.

  5. […] Classic CCM songs for Holy Week from Christian Stephens: Look What You’ve Done, and Broken and Bl… […]

  6. […] Classic CCM songs for Holy Week from Christian Stephens: Look What You’ve Done, and Broken and Bl… […]

  7. Mike says:

    Karan, Thank you so much for sharing these songs. I, to, am from that era of great Christian music. Listening to these takes me back to my roots and reminds me of what all the Lord has done for me.

  8. Glenn Belfiore says:

    Bit of a bummer that the above link (for the whole record) is not functioning. I just discovered my 2 LPs from the wayback time machine! I can’t wait to hear Christian Stephens again! There are some songs on YouTube but I think I’ll attempt my own digitizing of the records. I think I have a red vinyl 45 somewhere from them as well! Thanks for posting!

  9. Glenn Belfiore says:

    I just found a link showing that Translucent Red 45 – tracks include Lobster Man and Johnstown 1889 from 1983

    https://www.discogs.com/Christian-Stephens-Lobster-Man-Johnstown-1889/release/4411905

Leave a Reply

