Classic CCM for Good Friday: Christian Stephens – Song of the Cross

christian-stephens-frontOn Wednesday I shared about a favorite out-of-print CCM album which has many great songs for Holy Week.  Christian Stephens self-titled album from 1980.   I posted 2 songs from the album.  Today I’m posting another song from this album:  Song of the Cross.

Tracks 8 and 9 of the album form a trilogy of songs:

  • Song of the Cross, (track 8)
  • the Descent, and Arise  (track 9)

The songs are an imaginary dialogue between Jesus and the Father during the events of Good Friday and then they continue into Holy Saturday when Christ is in the tomb, and then capture the glory of Easter morning when the Father calls forth Jesus from the tomb.   It’s a very special set of songs which burned themselves on my mind and heart when I was a teenager.  I still get goosebumps and grow teary-eyed when I listen to it, even after all these years…

Here below for Good Friday is the Song of the Cross.  On Saturday evening I will post the Descent and Arise.

I hope these songs bless and encourage you as they have me.  They remind us of Christ’s obedience unto death and the Father’s perfect love that did not spare even His only beloved Son.  How wonderful that this is not just a creative lyric, but TRUTH.  May the Lord help us to adore Him this Good Friday as we remember His death to redeem us.

***

Song of the Cross (Christian Stephens, 1980)

(The audio is sometimes slow to load.  Should there be any problem with the embedded audio, use this link.)

[S] = the Son, [F] = the Father

[S] Oh my Father, they nailed me to the tree
This seeming defeat is Your precious victory
Forgive them Father. They know not what they do
My stripes will heal them.
My blood will see them through.

[F] Dearest Child. If there had been some other way to bring man home
than for Your precious blood to atone for his guilt and sin,
You wouldn’t be there.

[S] O my Father, it is finished, my life is done
Your perfect love has helped me overcome
Oh let Your will be completed within me
And let my life be acceptable unto Thee.

[F] O my Son, Your life indeed was a beautiful song to me
A violin announcing perfect victory
Why can’t they see Your great love for me?

[S] O my Father, I cannot breathe again
I commit my soul into Your glorious hands.
Accept my death on behalf of all my friends
They may not see now, but they will understand in the end.

[F] Beloved One, I cannot help you now,
but just hold on my Son.
You will be with me in a while
And I will hold You close to me
You have set Your brothers free.

[S] O my God, if I had just one more breath
I’d tell them I love them again.
But I feel the sting of death.
It’s cold and hard.
And I feel so alone, but my hope is set on You
In three days I will be home.

[F] My dear child, can You still hear my voice, I’m calling You
I want You to know that I’m so in love with You, I’m in love with You…

***

Note: the song posted is a digitized version of my original vinyl album.  There are some scratches, etc.  I believe the album is out of print, but if anyone knows of a CD or digital version available for purchase, I would love to know so I can link it here and ensure royalties go to the artist.

4 Responses to Classic CCM for Good Friday: Christian Stephens – Song of the Cross

  1. […] Wednesday I posted 2 songs:  Look What You’ve Done, and Broken and Bleeding.  On Friday, I posted Song of the Cross which is the first part of a trilogy of songs for the […]

  2. Melody says:

    Could you please add on here #9 The Descent & Arise? Thank you so much for sharing the other 3.

  3. […] Classic CCM for Good Friday: Christian Stephens – Song of the Cross […]

Leave a Reply

