Various Scriptures prayed over the past week

But Jesus said, “Let her alone; she has kept this for the day of my burial. For the poor you have with you always, but me you do not have always.” (John 12:7-8 )
      Holy Spirit, show us how to respond to both Jesus (as Mary did) and to the needs of the poor (as Judas Iscariot did not).

The pastures are clothed with flocks; the valleys also are covered with grain; they shout for joy, they also sing. (Psalm 65:13)
      Thank you, LORD, for letting us see this.

Then his master, after he had called him, said to him, ‘You wicked servant! I forgave you all that debt because you begged me. (Matthew 18:32)
      Holy Spirit, please help us have compassion on all those who are in debt to us. Forgive us our sins as we forgive those who have sinned against us. Thank you.

For none of us lives to himself, and no one dies to himself. For if we live, we live to the Lord; and if we die, we die to the Lord. Therefore, whether we live or die, we are the Lord’s. (Romans 14:7-8 )
      Help me to know my place in your body, Jesus, and live so that others may live. Help us to love our brethren as you have loved us.

He made known his ways to Moses, his acts to the children of Israel. (Psalm 103:7)
      Thank you for your mercy, Father.

Jesus said to her, “Did I not say to you that if you would believe you would see the glory of God?” (John 11:40)
      Jesus, we believe and we long to see the glory of God manifested in your church and among your people.

Then all the multitude kept silent and listened to Barnabas and Paul declaring how many miracles and wonders God had worked through them among the Gentiles. (Acts 15:12)
      Holy Father, we pray that your church will lsten to those through whom you are working.

Have mercy upon me, O God, according to your lovingkindness; according to the multitude of your tender mercies, blot out my transgressions. (Psalm 51:1)
      Holy Spirit, blot out my transgressions. Cleanse my heart, my soul, my spirit of the memories of my transgressions.

Then they took away the stone from the place where the dead man was lying. And Jesus lifted up his eyes and said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me. And I know that you always hear me, but because of the people who are standing by I said this, that they may believe that you sent me.” (John 11:41-42)
      Jesus, we know that right now you are interceding for us and we thank you Father that you hear him.

Now when he had said these things, he cried with a loud voice, “Lazarus, come forth!” And he who had died came out bound hand and foot with graveclothes, and his face was wrapped with a cloth. Jesus said to them, “Loose him, and let him go.” (John 11:43-44)
      Lord, if we have bound anyone by our resentments or anxieties, help us loose those bindings and let them go.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me, and know my anxieties; (Psalm 139:23)
      Lord Jesus, you have searched me and know all that is in my heart and my soul. Come with your Holy Spirit and calm my anxieties. Thank you.

And see if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. (Psalm 139:24)
      Holy Spirit, lead me in your everlasting ways. Lead me across the Jordan River into you land of promise.

The Pharisees therefore said among themselves, “You see that you are accomplishing nothing. Look, the world has gone after him!” (John 12:19)
      Jesus, help me go after you as well.

Now when they had gone through Phrygia and the region of Galatia, they were forbidden by the Holy Spirit to preach the word in Asia. After they had come to Mysia, they tried to go into Bithynia, but the Spirit did not permit them. So passing by Mysia, they came down to Troas. And a vision appeared to Paul in the night. A man of Macedonia stood and pleaded with him, saying, “Come over to Macedonia and help us.” Now after he had seen the vision, immediately we sought to go to Macedonia, concluding that the Lord had called us to preach the gospel to them. (Acts 16:6-10)
      Acts 16:6-10, WORD: Follow the promptings of my Holy Spirit as Paul and his companions did.
      Father, please help me to be obedient to your Holy Spirit as Paul and the others were.

If anyone serves me, let him follow me; and where I am, there my servant will be also. If anyone serves me, him my Father will honor. (John 12:26)
      Jesus, help me to be where you are

Blessed be the LORD God, the God of Israel, who only does wondrous things! (Psalm 72:18 )
      Jesus, fill me with the wonder of your deeds.

Then Jesus said to them, “A little while longer the light is with you. Walk while you have the light, lest darkness overtake you; he who walks in darkness does not know where he is going. (John 12:35)
      Jesus, please help us daily walk by the light of your word and your Holy Spirit.

While you have the light, believe in the light, that you may become sons of light.” These things Jesus spoke, and departed, and was hidden from them. (John 12:36)
      Holy Spirit, please help us become children of light.

If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,” even the night shall be light about me; indeed, the darkness shall not hide from you, but the night shines as the day; the darkness and the light are both alike to you. (Psalm 139:11-12)
      Jesus, thank you that there is no darkness dark enough to hide us from your light.

But at midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the prisoners were listening to them. (Acts 16:25)
      Holy Father, I pray that you will send many witnesses into our jails and prisons to sing the songs of Zion and pray so that the prisoners may hear the Good News.

And he brought them out and said, “Sirs, what must I do to be saved?” (Acts 16:30)
      Holy Spirit, help both the prisoners and jailers to come to the place where they ask this questions.

So they said, “Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved, you and your household.” (Acts 16:31)
      Holy Spirit, help the jailers and prisoners hear this answer.

Then they spoke the word of the Lord to him and to all who were in his house. (Acts 16:32)
      Lord, raise up men and women who will speak the word of God to them.

And to man He said, ‘Behold, the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom, and to depart from evil is understanding.’ “ (Job 28:28 )
      Lord, bring the House of Bishops to this wisdom and understanding.

WORD: Listen to my word for you.
WORD: You are in my care.
WORD: Come to me just as you are.
WORD: Look to me for guidance.
WORD: Come to me; I AM waiting for you.
Acts 16:6-10, WORD: Follow the promptings of my Holy Spirit as Paul and his companions did.
WORD: Share my love with others.

Daily Lectionary
Thursday: [70], 71 * 74; Job 28:1-28: Acts 16:25-40: John 12:27-36a
Friday: 69:1-23(24-30)31-38 * 73; Esther 1:1-4,10-19*: Acts 17:1-15: John 12:36b-43

      Notes from the Front Lines

***** Please pray for the victims and families of those with Ebola in Liberia, Sierra Leone, Guinea, and Nigeria. It is decimating whole communities.

Albany Intercessor

Leave a Reply

