Various Scriptures

When he had stopped speaking, he said to Simon, “Launch out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch.” (Luke 5:4)
      Jesus, please give each disciple in this diocese the courage to “launch out into the deep” for a catch of souls.

But Simon answered and said to him, “Master, we have toiled all night and caught nothing; nevertheless at your word I will let down the net.” (Luke 5:5)
      Holy Spirit, please give us this same obedience to your word: that even in the face of previous discouragement we will still “let down our nets”.

And when they had done this, they caught a great number of fish, and their net was breaking. (Luke 5:6)
      Bring in the catch of souls you have planned for us, Jesus.

So they signaled to their partners in the other boat to come and help them. And they came and filled both the boats, so that they began to sink. (Luke 5:7)
      Father, please give us a spirit of cooperation to bring in the catch.

When Simon Peter saw it, he fell down at Jesus’ knees, saying, “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord!” (Luke 5:8 )
      Father, help us bring our sinfulness to Jesus as Simon Peter did.

Then I will sow her for myself in the earth, and I will have mercy on her who had not obtained mercy; then I will say to those who were not my people, ‘You are my people!’ And they shall say, ‘You are my God!’ ” (Hosea 2:23)
      You are my God! Thank you for your mercy!

I will sing of the mercies of the LORD forever; with my mouth will I make known your faithfulness to all generations. (Psalm 89:1)
      Holy Spirit, please help me make your faithfulness known to all generations: to young and old alike.

Psalm 89:1 WORD: Make my faithfulness known to others.

Daily Lectionary
Monday: 89:1-18 * 89:19-52; Hosea 2:14-23: Acts 20:17-38: Luke 5:1-11
Tuesday: 97, 99, [100] * 94, [95]; Hosea 4:1-10: Acts 21:1-14: Luke 5:12-26

      Notes from the Front Lines

Daily: Daily: For our Bishop and for everyone to read the Scriptures
September 29 Episcopal Charities

***** Please pray for the victims and families of those with Ebola in Liberia, Sierra Leone, Guinea, Nigeria, and elsewhere. It is decimating whole communities. Pray for the health workers who risk their lives to treat the sick and the dying.

Albany Intercessor

Leave a Reply

