Prayer Resources and Articles for Reflection (from recent Tweets)

A round up of recent links we’ve tweeted (prayers, teaching on prayer, articles for spiritual reflection…)

Now that we’re on Twitter (@anglicanprayer) I may from time to time send out a quick Tweet about an article or a blog entry that I found helpful, but which I did not immediately have time to write about here on the blog.  Or there may be someone who Tweets us a link that is worth sharing.  Both of those things happened in the past two days.   From time to time, I will try to round up such links here on the blog to provide a more permanent record and a helpful resource.

 In Him was life, and that life was the light of men.

As You are light,
may I walk in you.
Teach me to avoid darkness
so that all my thoughts and deeds are shadowless deeds
— no darkness at all —
which I gladly offer back to You.

  • Fr. Tim Fountain, one of our past contributors here at L&B, tweeted us the link to a reflection by Dave KraftSeven Symptoms of Eternity Amnesia, a helpful article on how having an eternal perspective helps us have realistic expectations, and allows us to hold on to hope even in painful struggles.  I found it relevant in helping me to examine my prayers and my attitude towards God as I pray.  Am I praying from a human perspective or am I seeking God’s eternal perspective as I pray?
  • I tweeted the link to a good short reflection on Intercessory Prayer  from the Anglican Pastor blog.  My favorite part is the last section, which reminds us that true intercession for others – like Christ’s intercession for us – is not just about words, but self-emptying love:

Jesus’ intercession isn’t just a prayer that He prayed, but the life He lived. Everything that He said and did was not for Him, rather it was all for us! The essential meaning of the cross is Christ’s mediation for all who would be saved. The Bible tells us “there is one God and Mediator between God and men, the Man Jesus Christ.” (1 Timothy 2:5). True intercession begins by following Jesus’ example of self-giving and then flows into fervent prayer for the lives of others.

It’s part of an excellent series of reflections on prayer by Dr. Winfield Bevins, which I should have posted about ages ago.  The series is highly recommended!

  • Lastly I tweeted the link to an excellent reflection on prayer from Desiring God blog: Pray for the Strength that God Supplies  It’s a good reminder that God’s priorities and ours may be different.  Here’s an excerpt:

We weak people frequently need to pray for strength. “Oh Father, please give me strength for ___” is a wonderful prayer. It’s a necessary prayer, and it’s a God-honoring prayer because it recognizes the true source of our strength (Exodus 15:2).

But when we ask God for strength, what are we asking for? Are we asking for the strength that God wants to give, or are we asking for the strength that we want to have?

The reason this is important to ask is because the two may not be the same. Highest on God’s agenda for us is strengthening our faith (Hebrews 11:6, Galatians 2:20). Highest on our agenda is frequently accomplishing something necessary or noble, or escaping affliction or humiliation. These may not be wrong desires, but they may be the wrong priorities.

That’s it for this round up.  Hopefully we can make this a regular feature.

Leave a Reply

