Advent for the 21st Century – Good Advent Apps?!?!

Ok, I confess… I do NOT have a smart phone, nor an ipad, nor a tablet of any kind.   I have a laptop running Windows 7, a Kindle… and a dumb cell phone… that’s about it for my mobile technology.  So, I’m not really your go-to-girl for Apps.

But I did discover a Musical Advent Calendar app that looked quite promising.

*** A new day, a new piece of classical music – FREE! ****
Naxos’s new musical app for Advent features 25 complete tracks behind numbered doors. Each day, a new door is ‘unlocked’ to reveal a new piece of seasonal music from Naxos’s classical music catalogue.

=>  Can any of our more tech-savvy readers suggest any good Advent apps?  There must be some out there!

***

P.S. And yes… just merely typing Advent and Apps in the same sentence sets my teeth on edge a bit!  In my mind, Advent is a time for slowing down and disconnecting from our gadgets for awhile.  My favorite Advent “technology” includes candles, matches, evergreen boughs, and a CD player, and a printed Bible.  But of course, the very fact that I’m blogging about Advent means that I recognize that technology *can* be a great blessing.  I’m incredibly thankful for the wealth of wonderful Advent resources the internet has opened up to us all.  So, I know that Advent apps can and will be a blessing to some.  But please don’t mind me if I try to encourage myself and us all to step back from our reliance on technology a bit during Advent!

One Response to Advent for the 21st Century – Good Advent Apps?!?!

  1. […] Advent for the 21st Century – Good Advent Apps?!?! […]

Leave a Reply

