Mar, Galatians, Isaiah, and Psalms

And a cloud came and overshadowed them; and a voice came out of the cloud, saying, “This is my beloved Son. Hear him!” (Mark 9:7)
      Father, please help us by your Holy Spirit to hear your beloved son Jesus.

I say then: walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. (Galatians 5:16)
      Jesus, please help me walk in in your Spirit.

Now the works of the flesh are evident, which are: adultery, fornication, uncleanness, lewdness, idolatry, sorcery, hatred, contentions, jealousies, outbursts of wrath, selfish ambitions, dissensions, heresies, envy, murders, drunkenness, revelries, and the like; of which I tell you beforehand, just as I also told you in time past, that those who practice such things will not inherit the kingdom of God. (Galatians 5:19-21)
      Jesus, guide us through this dry and weary land — we see the works of the flesh all around us — in the church and in the nation.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law. (Galatians 5:22-23)
      Holy Spirit, there is no law against your fruit — help us leverage the power of your fruit in our work places, in our communities, and in our churches.

Thus says the LORD: “Keep justice, and do righteousness, for my salvation is about to come, and my righteousness to be revealed. Blessed is the man who does this, and the son of man who lays hold on it; who keeps from defiling the sabbath, and keeps his hand from doing any evil.” (Isaiah 56:1-2)
      Father, please help us enter into this blessing.

Even them I will bring to my holy mountain, and make them joyful in my house of prayer. Their burnt offerings and their sacrifices will be accepted on my altar; for my house shall be called a house of prayer for all nations.” (Isaiah 56:7)
      Holy Spirit, we pray that every parish in this diocese will be a joy-filled house of prayer.

I will praise the name of God with a song, and will magnify him with thanksgiving. This also shall please the LORD better than an ox or bull, which has horns and hooves. (Psalm 69:30-31)
      LORD, help us praise you and honor your name day by day. Thank you.

WORD: Let me refine the desires of your heart.
WORD: Find your rest in me. Let me be your hiding place where you may find rest in my arms.

Daily Lectionary
Friday: 69:1-23(24-30)31-38 * 73; Isa. 56:1-8; Gal. 5:16-24; Mark 9:2-13
Saturday: 75, 76 * 23, 27; Isa. 57:3-13; Gal. 5:25-6:10; Mark 9:14-29

Albany Intercessor

Leave a Reply

