CoE–Lancelot Andrewes

Lancelot Andrewes (1555 – 25 September 1626) was an English bishop and scholar, who held high positions in the Church of England during the reigns of Queen Elizabeth I and King James I. During the latter’s reign, Andrewes served successively as Bishop of Chichester, Ely and Winchester and oversaw the translation of the Authorized Version (or King James Version) of the Bible. Andrewes’ name is the first on the list of divines appointed to compile the Authorized Version of the Bible. He headed the “First Westminster Company” which took charge of the first books of the Old Testament (Genesis to 2 Kings). He acted, furthermore, as a sort of general editor for the project as well.

From Devotions of Bishop Andrewes, Vol. I:

PRAYER FOR GRACE

My hands will I lift up
unto Thy commandments which I have
loved.
Open Thou mine eyes that I may see,
incline my heart that I may desire,
order my steps that I may follow,
the way of Thy commandments.
O Lord God, be Thou to me a God,
and beside Thee none else,
none else, nought else with Thee.
Vouchsafe to me, to worship Thee and
serve Thee
1. in truth of spirit,
2. in reverence of body,
3. in blessing of lips,
4. in private and in public;
5. to pay honour to them that have the
rule over me,
by obedience and submission,
to shew affection to my own,
by carefulness and providence;
6. to overcome evil with good;
7. to possess my vessel in sanctification
and honour;
8. to have my converse without
covetousness,
content with what I have;
9. to speak the truth in love;
10. to be desirous not to lust,
not to lust passionately,
not to go after lusts.

(THE HEDGE OF THE LAW, i.e. PRECAUTIONS)

Father in heaven,
We thank You for the life and ministry of Lancelot Andrewes, and we stand in agrrement with his prayer for grace. We humbly ask that Church of England, particularly the General Synod and the members of the House of Bishops, be likewise informed, molded, and protected by Your holy law. Amen.

Reference: Wikipedia, Christian Classics Ethereal Library

Leave a Reply

