Music for Lent: Help my Unbelief (Red Mountain Music)

For the last 1 – 2 days I’ve had this song / this prayer filling my mind in quiet moments.

It’s a wonderful modern update of an old hymn by John Newton which I discovered it last Lent.  In fact, I may have posted it here last year.  But it’s definitely resonating with my thoughts and prayers again this Lent.  I’ve been convicted of the stubborn unbelief in my heart…

 

I encourage you to view the page at YouTube and read the background about the hymn.

You can find the words and chords here.

Learn more about Red Mountain Music and buy their songs here.

Help my Unbelief Lyrics:

I know the Lord is nigh,
And would but cannot pray,
For Satan meets me when I try,
And frights my soul away,
And frights my soul away.

I would but can’t repent,
Though I endeavor oft;
This stony heart can never relent
Till Jesus makes it soft,
Till Jesus makes it soft.

Help my unbelief.
Help my unbelief.
Help my unbelief.
My help must come from Thee.

I would but cannot love,
Though wooed by love divine;
No arguments have power to move
A soul as base as mine.
A soul so base as mine.

I would but cannot rest,
In God’s most holy will;
I know what He appoints is best,
And murmur at it still.
I murmur at it still.

Help my unbelief.
Help my unbelief.
Help my unbelief.
My help must come from Thee.

Leave a Reply

