CCM Classics for Easter – Steve Green: I Know that My Redeemer Liveth

New Young Messiah

I love Handel’s Messiah.  And I love classic CCM.  Put the two together and you get the wonderful New Young Messiah project released in 1993.  Thankfully it’s still in print – available for purchase at both Amazon & iTunes.  The artist list is just about a “best of” list of classic CCM performers:  Steven Curtis Chapman, Wayne Watson, Steve Green, Sandi Patty, Larnelle Harris, Twila Paris, BeBe & CeCe Winans, First Call, 4Him, Phil Keaggy….

One of the best tracks on the album is Steve Green’s rendition of I Know that My Redeemer Liveth, taken of course from Job’s famous declaration:

For I know that my Redeemer lives,
    and at the last he will stand upon the earth.
And after my skin has been thus destroyed,
    yet in my flesh I shall see God,
whom I shall see for myself,
    and my eyes shall behold, and not another.

(Job 19:25-27, ESV)

Handel combines the truth from Job, with that from 1 Corinthians 15: 20-22

But in fact Christ has been raised from the dead, the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep.  For as by a man came death, by a man has come also the resurrection of the dead.  For as in Adam all die, so also in Christ shall all be made alive.

Here’s a YouTube of Steve Green’s fantastic performance of this song.  ENJOY! – and REJOICE!  This is not just a nice song.  These words are TRUE!:

One Response to CCM Classics for Easter – Steve Green: I Know that My Redeemer Liveth

  1. […] Steve Green: I Know that My Redeemer Liveth (from New Young Messiah 1993) […]

Leave a Reply

