A prayer for diligence in studying Scripture and strength to obey

This WONDERFUL prayer was posted by Trevin Wax at his blog over the weekend.  It really resonates with me.  So often I assume I can search and understand the Scriptures in my own strength instead of relying on the Holy Spirit. 

May Your Spirit, O Christ,
lead me in the right way,
keeping me safe from all forces of evil and destruction.
And, free from all malice,
may I search diligently in Your Holy Word
to discover with the eyes of my mind Your commandments.
Finally, give me the strength of will
to put those commandments into practice
through all the days of my life.

– Bede, 673-735

One Response to A prayer for diligence in studying Scripture and strength to obey

  1. Charlotte Rundell says:

    Excellent!! Thanks for pointing it out! Just returned from icon class. More theology this year. Interesting that he said only someone with a relationship with Christ can write an icon. He may have been shocked by who was in class last year. It will be an arduous retreat. One goal in this week’s deification is to keep mouth shut & listen. Another is to not compare myself to anyone else. A tall order!

    >

Leave a Reply

