May my life be a living sacrifice – a prayer for each morning by Elisabeth Elliot

In memory of Elisabeth Elliot, a wonderful mentor & example who died yesterday, a great prayer that she wrote and shared with many over the years:

Loving Lord and Heavenly Father I offer up today all that I am, all that I have, all that I do, and all that I suffer, to be Yours today and Yours forever. Give me grace, Lord, to do all that I know of Your holy will. Purify my heart, sanctify my thinking, correct my desires. Teach me, in all of today’s work and trouble and joy, to respond with honest praise, simple trust, and instant obedience, that my life may be in truth a living sacrifice, by the power of Your Holy Spirit and in the name of Your Son Jesus Christ, my Master and my all. Amen.

from here.

****

Update:

For more background on this prayer, here’s an archived version of the transcript of one of Elisabeth Elliot’s radio broadcasts where she talks about why she wrote this prayer and what it has meant in her life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

