From the Lectionary for 2015 11 05

Matthew 14:7-9 (NKJV)
Therefore he promised with an oath to give her whatever she might ask. So she, having been prompted by her mother, said, “Give me John the Baptist’s head here on a platter.” And the king was sorry; nevertheless, because of the oaths and because of those who sat with him, he commanded it to be given to her.
      Holy Spirit, guide me in the oaths and vows I make so that they accord with your will.
Revelation 14:5 (NKJV)
And in their mouth was found no deceit, for they are without fault before the throne of God.
      Father, I pray that you will find no deceit in my mouth.
Revelation 14:13 (NKJV)
Then I heard a voice from heaven saying to me, “Write: ‘Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.’ ” “Yes,” says the Spirit, “that they may rest from their labors, and their works follow them.”
      Jesus, thank you that Jean died in you and now rests from her labors.
Ezra 7:10 (NKJV)
For Ezra had prepared his heart to seek the Law of the LORD, and to do it, and to teach statutes and ordinances in Israel.
      Father as you did with Ezra, help me prepare my heart to seek after your ways.
Ezra 7:16 (NKJV)
and whereas all the silver and gold that you may find in all the province of Babylon, along with the freewill offering of the people and the priests, are to be freely offered for the house of their God in Jerusalem–
      Lord, help me make a freewill offering for your kingdom puirposes.
Psalm 70:4 (NKJV)
Let all those who seek You rejoice and be glad in You; and let those who love Your salvation say continually, “Let God be magnified!”
      Jesus, I seek you — be magnified in my heart.
Psalm 70:5 (NKJV)
But I am poor and needy; Make haste to me, O God! You are my help and my deliverer; O LORD, do not delay.
      Lord, I am poor in spirit, come speedily to help and deliver me.
Psalm 71:9 (NKJV)
Do not cast me off in the time of old age; do not forsake me when my strength fails.
      LORD, be my strength and my refutge.
Word: Keep turning to me in good times and bad. I AM your help and your refuge. Flee into my arms and rest there.

Leave a Reply

