From the Lectionary for 2015 11 08

Mark 12:41-44 (NKJV)
Now Jesus sat opposite the treasury and saw how the people put money into the treasury. And many who were rich put in much. Then one poor widow came and threw in two mites, which make a quadrans. So He called His disciples to Himself and said to them, “Assuredly, I say to you that this poor widow has put in more than all those who have given to the treasury; for they all put in out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all that she had, her whole livelihood.”
      “Blessed are those who are poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 5:3) Jesus, help me know my poverty before you so that I may give in such a way that I enter the riches of heaven.

Hebrews 9:27-28 (NKJV)
And as it is appointed for men to die once, but after this the judgment, so Christ was offered once to bear the sins of many. To those who eagerly wait for Him He will appear a second time, apart from sin, for salvation.
      “I know that my redeemer lives, and he shall stand at last on the earth; and after my skin is destroyed, this I know, that in my flesh I shall see God, whom I shall see for myself, and my eyes shall behold, and not as a stranger. How my heart yearns within me!” (Job 19:25-27)

1 Kings 17:13-16 (NKJV)
And Elijah said to her, “Do not fear; go and do as you have said, but make me a small cake from it first, and bring it to me; and afterward make some for yourself and your son. For thus says the LORD God of Israel: ‘The bin of flour shall not be used up, nor shall the jar of oil run dry, until the day the LORD sends rain on the earth.’ ” So she went away and did according to the word of Elijah; and she and he and her household ate for many days. The bin of flour was not used up, nor did the jar of oil run dry, according to the word of the LORD which He spoke by Elijah.
      Father, thank you for the faithfulness of your word to Elijah and to the widow of Zaraphath and to us.

Psalm 146:5 (NKJV)
Happy is he who has the God of Jacob for his help, whose hope is in the LORD his God,
      Holy Spirit, help me enter into the joy of those who have the God of Jacob for their hope and their help.

Word: I have walked with you all these years. You have never been alone.
      Thank you.

Albany Intercessor

Leave a Reply

