South Carolina: Praying for the Diocesan Leadership

I’m sure thousands of orthodox Episcopalians & Anglicans around the world are today praying for Bp. Mark Lawrence of the Diocese of South Carolina by name in the face of the news of the Title IV disciplinary procedures instituted against him.

I’d also urge readers to be praying for the Diocesan Standing Committee:

The Rev. Paul Fuener is the Chair of the Standing Committee.

Other members:

Mr. J. Reid Boylston, III
The Very Rev. John Barr
Mrs. Ann Dennis
The Rt. Rev. Mark J. Lawrence
The Rev. Canon James B Lewis
Mr. Wade H Logan, III
Mr. Ed Mitman
The Rev. Andrew O’Dell
Mrs. Lynda Frenchie – Richards
Mr. Alan Runyan
Mrs. Suzanne Schwank
The Rev. Dr. Greg Snyder
The Very Rev. David Thurlow
Mrs. Ann Hester Willis

You can find the names of the Diocesan Council here.

I believe the Chancellor of the Diocese is Mr. Wade H Logan, III.

Bishop Lawrence will be meeting with the Diocesan Clergy for prayer and discussion on Tuesday October 11.  I would encourage many of our readers to pray and fast on that day.

In thinking and praying about the idea of the Diocesan Leadership gathering to “take counsel” this passage from Isaiah comes to mind:

Isa 45:18-24
18    For this is what the LORD says– he who created the heavens, he is God; he who fashioned and made the earth, he founded it; he did not create it to be empty, but formed it to be inhabited– he says: “I am the LORD, and there is no other.
19    I have not spoken in secret, from somewhere in a land of darkness; I have not said to Jacob’s descendants, ‘Seek me in vain.’ I, the LORD, speak the truth; I declare what is right.
20    “Gather together and come; assemble, you fugitives from the nations. Ignorant are those who carry about idols of wood, who pray to gods that cannot save.
21    Declare what is to be, present it– let them take counsel together. Who foretold this long ago, who declared it from the distant past? Was it not I, the LORD? And there is no God apart from me, a righteous God and a Savior; there is none but me.
22    “Turn to me and be saved, all you ends of the earth; for I am God, and there is no other.
23    By myself I have sworn, my mouth has uttered in all integrity a word that will not be revoked: Before me every knee will bow; by me every tongue will swear.
24    They will say of me, ‘In the LORD alone are righteousness and strength.'” All who have raged against him will come to him and be put to shame.
(NIV)

Lord, may the leaders of the Diocese of South Carolina heed Your voice and Your counsel whenever they meet.  May they know and declare that in You alone are righteousness and strength.  Be their confidence, their strong support, we pray in Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Note: You can find all our South Carolina-related posts on our special South Carolina menu page.

– Karen

One Response to South Carolina: Praying for the Diocesan Leadership

  1. […] Praying for the Diocesan Leadership (Standing Committee list) […]

Leave a comment