Psalm 40:1-4

October 28, 2011

I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined to me, and heard my cry. (Psalm 40:1)
      LORD, we pray for patient endurance. Thank you for hearing the cries of our hearts.

He also brought me up out of a horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my steps. (Psalm 40:2)
      Father, set out feet on the one rock that does not move or shake: Jesus.

He has put a new song in my mouth — praise to our God; many will see it and fear, and will trust in the LORD. (Psalm 40:3)
      Holy Spirit, put songs of praise and worship in our mouths and in our hearts. Help us praise our God and Father and Jesus Christ his son day by day.

Blessed is that man who makes the LORD his trust, and does not respect the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies. (Psalm 40:4)
      Lord Jesus, the proud have us in great derision, but help us keep our eyes fixed on you. Thank you.

A word received: Don’t be afraid. Look to me for help.

Friday: 40,54 * 51; Neh. 2:1-20 Rev. 6:12-7:4 Matthew 13:24-30
Saturday: 55 * 138,139:1-17(18-23); Neh. 4:1-23 Rev. 7:(4-8 )9-17 Matthew 13:31-35

STUDY GUIDE: SUNDAY SCHOOL LESSON 07, October 30, 2011
Theme Verse: 19Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and aliens, but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of God’s household, 20built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone. 21In him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a holy temple in the Lord. 22And in him you too are being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by his Spirit. (Ephesians 2:19-22)
Readings: Matthew 23:1-12; 1 Thessalonians 3:1-13; Micah 3:5-12; Psalm 43
Memory Verse: Send forth your light and your truth, let them guide me; (Psalm 43:3a)
Next Week: Matthew 25:1-13; 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18; Amos 5:18-24; Psalm 70

      Gospel: Matthew 23:1-12

A word received: I did not say, “Do not listen to their teaching.” I said, “Do not be taught by their actions. I want you to learn to listen to my word and learn from it. Look for living gospels.

      Epistle: 1 Thessalonians 3:1-13

A word received: I want you to encourage one another.

      Old Testament: Micah 3:5-12

A word received: I do both justice and mercy. Do not confuse my love by talking about forgiveness that needs no repentance. I AM calling my people to repentance so that they will know my love and mercy.

      Psalm: Psalm 43

A word received: Seek your vindication from me. Let me vindicate you. I AM your strength and your redeemer.

      Notes from the Front Line

***** Date: Thu, 27 Oct 2011
From: Jake Dell
Subject: Fr. Nigel is the lead story on Episcopal News Service today http://episcopalchurch.org/ens.htm
Link to the article here: http://episcopalchurch.org/79425_130334_ENG_HTM.htm
(The Rev.) Jake Dell
Senior Manager, Digital Marketing and Advertising
Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society
The Episcopal Church Center
815 Second Avenue
New York, NY 10017
e: jdellDFMS@gmail.com

Albany Intercessor


Arkansas–Francis Sayre

October 28, 2011

The Very Rev. Francis B. Sayre Jr. (January 17, 1915 — October 3, 2008) was Dean of the National Cathedral in Washington, D.C. for 27 years.

Mid all the wonder of Thy glory, O God, we thank Thee most for the familiar places where Thou dost come to meet our lowly love and our unspoken hope.

Blessed be the quiet hallows where Thy people have found peace, and the steeples they have built to crown the circle of their friendship in Thy Word. Bless their homes along the rivers Red and White and muddy brown; deck their lives with the homely comfort of humor, with proportion, and the silent pride of valiant struggle.

So may the common web of life in Arkansas be ennobled by that holiness and help which is Thine alone to give, and our grateful destiny to reflect; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Hat tip: The Anglican Digest