Transfiguration

March 6, 2011

“And it was for this He called you through our gospel, that you may gain the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ.”2 Thessalonians 2:14

Father,
The light of Your presence shone from Moses’ face and flooded Solomon’s temple at its dedication. It radiated from Jesus and bathed His disciples on the Mount of Transfiguration. May Your glory reveal itself in us, through repentance and prayer, praise and worship, in unity with our brothers and sisters in Christ. Amen.


The tombs of Habakkuk

March 6, 2011

Habakkuk’s final resting place is thought by some to be found in the city of Toyserkan (Western Iran), where an imposing conical mausoleum has been build to honor his memory. As noted in the Encyclopedia Iranica, “the tomb of Habaquq [Habakkuk] is sacred to both Jews and Muslims and many stories are told by locals about the miracles performed by this prophet for members of both communities.
Another claim for Habakkuk’s tomb is in Israel, northeast of the Sea of Galilee.

Habakkuk 1:1-4 (New King James Version)
The burden which the prophet Habakkuk saw.
O LORD, how long shall I cry,
And You will not hear?
Even cry out to You, “Violence!”
And You will not save.
Why do You show me iniquity,
And cause me to see trouble?
For plundering and violence are before me;
There is strife, and contention arises.
Therefore the law is powerless,
And justice never goes forth.
For the wicked surround the righteous;
Therefore perverse judgment proceeds.

O Lord, the nation of Israel is surrounded by enemies. Have mercy.

Habakkuk 3:3-4 (New King James Version)
God came from Teman,
The Holy One from Mount Paran. Selah

His glory covered the heavens,
And the earth was full of His praise.
His brightness was like the light;
He had rays flashing from His hand,
And there His power was hidden.

You are the morning star rising in the hearts of Your people across the Middle East from Israel to Iran.

Habakkuk 2:14 (New King James Version)
For the earth will be filled
With the knowledge of the glory of the LORD,
As the waters cover the sea.

No prophecy ever came by human will, but men and women moved by the Holy Spirit spoke from God. We stand in agreement with Habakkuk that the earth will be filled with the knowledge of Your glory, as the waters cover the sea. Amen.


Sunday School Lesson

March 6, 2011

A word received: Place your hope in me.

STUDY GUIDE: SUNDAY SCHOOL LESSON 22, March 6, 2011
            Lectionary A, Last Sunday of the Epiphany
Theme Verse: “But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31
Readings: Matthew 17:1-13; Philippians 3:7-14; Exodus 24:12-18; Psalm 99
Additional: Deuteronomy 5:1-10
Memory Verse: “but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me.” (Philippians 3:12b)
Next Week: Matthew 4:1-11; Romans 5:12-19; Genesis 12:1-8; Great Litany

      Psalm: Psalm 99

A word received: I want my people to know who I AM and that I AM holy. I want them to be a holy people who walk in my ways.

A word received: I want to rule and reign in your hearts; I want to be LORD. Look to me — I AM holy. Let me guide you into holiness. I AM the LORD.

See also: Psalm 15:1 and Psalm 24:3ff on ascending the “hill of the LORD”. The LORD is calling us to be ready to go up to his hill at his buidding and be ready for whatever the cost of it may be. Paul in Philippians 3:7 expresses his willingness to give up everything for the sake of that call. Be ready. Be on the Pilgrim’s path. Be ready for whatever it takes.

      Old Testament: Exodus 24:12-18

A word received: I prepared Joshua. I turned his heart to waiting on me while he waited for Moses to come out of the cloud. Will you be a Joshua who waits on me?

A word received: I AM a consuming fire. I called Moses into my presence to do a work in his heart. I call you to come into my presence so that I can do a work in your heart.

      Epistle: Philippians 3:7-14

A word received: Paul heard my call and chose to press on. I want you to make that choice. It is a costly choice and I want you to choose it.

A word received: What are you willing to give up for the sake of knowing me? Paul was willing and did give up everything to know me. Look to me, and look at my holiness; decide if you are willing to follow Paul.

      Gospel: Matthew 17:1-13

A word received: Come, follow me. Peter, James and John followed where I led them. I called them and they came. I want you to answer my call.

A word received: I took Peter, James and John up to the holy mountain so that they could be changed as Moses was. Look at the pattern. Will you be willing to ascend the Mount of the LORD when I call you?

A word received: Ask them to choose to answer my call.

Sunday: 148, 149, 150 * 114, 115; Deuteronomy 6:1-9; Hebrews 12:18-29; John 12:24-32
HC: 99; Exodus 24:12(13-14)15-18; Philippians 3:7-14; Matthew 17:1-9
Monday: 25 * 9, 15; Deuteronomy 6:10-15; Hebrews 1:1-14; John 1:1-18

Albany Intercessor