Lenten Prayers: A Prayer of John Knox – help us not to receive thy word in vain

March 31, 2009

O LORD, strengthen our faith; kindle it more in ferventness and love towards thee, and our neighbours, for thy sake. Suffer us not, most dear Father, to receive thy word any more in vain; but grant us always the assistance of thy grace and Holy Spirit, that in heart, word, and deed, we may sanctify and do worship to thy name.

Help to amplify and increase thy kingdom; that whatsoever thou sendest, we may be heartily well content with thy good pleasure and will. Let us not lack the thing — O Father! — without the which we cannot serve thee; but bless thou so all the works of our hands, that we may have sufficient, and not be chargeable, but rather helpful unto others.

Be merciful, O LORD, to our offences; and seeing our debt is great, which thou hast forgiven us in JESUS CHRIST, make us to love thee and our neighbours so much the more. Be thou our Father, our Captain and Defender in all temptations; hold thou us by thy merciful hand; that we may be delivered from all inconveniences [i.e. hardships], and end our lives in the sanctifying and honouring of thine holy name, through JESUS CHRIST our Lord and only Saviour. Amen.

Let thy mighty hand and outstretched arm, O LORD, be still our defence;

thy mercy and loving-kindness in JESUS CHRIST, thy dear Son, our salvation;

thy true and holy word our instruction;

thy grace and Holy Spirit our comfort and consolation, unto the end and in the end. Amen.

O LORD, increase our faith. Amen.


The full prayer is here


Apologies for lapse in Lenten blogging

March 31, 2009

Apologies to all our readers and regular Lenten visitors for the recent lapse in Lenten blogging. I had a whole long list of prayers and quotes to post here in recent days, but I’ve been out of the office in meetings many days, and/or had a terrible internet connection much of the time I have been at my computer. Such is life in a developing country!…

Lenten blogging should resume on a more normal level (internet connection allowing) tomorrow, April 1 – no joke! I also have already “pre-posted” a lot of entries for Holy Week, so hang in there with us. I hope and pray the Lent-themed devotional entries we have posted almost every day of Lent have been, and continue to be a blessing.

— Karen B.


Psalm 120

March 31, 2009

In my distress I cried to the LORD, and he heard me. (Psalm 120:1)
      Father, thank you for hearing me when I cry out to you; thank you for hearing me even before the words are on my lips.

Deliver my soul, O LORD, from lying lips and from a deceitful tongue. (Psalm 120:2)
      Jesus, set me free from the deception of sin.

What shall be given to you, or what shall be done to you, you false tongue? (Psalm 120:3)
      Holy Spirit, cleanse the words that come from my mouth and purify them; don’t let my tongue lead me into deception.

Sharp arrows of the warrior, with coals of the broom tree! (Psalm 120:4)
      LORD, discipline me and restore in me the joy of your salvation.

Woe is me, that I dwell in Meshech, that I dwell among the tents of Kedar! (Psalm 120:5)
      Holy Spirit, establish me among your people and surround me with your witnesses.

My soul has dwelt too long with one who hates peace. (Psalm 120:6)
      Jesus, please help me find my rest in you.

I am for peace; but when I speak, they are for war. (Psalm 120:7)
      Father, help me seek for your peace in my heart and protect me from those who revel in strife. Thank you.

      A word received: Pray for my people. Pray they will choose me as their refuge in the storm.

Tuesday: [120], 121, 122, 123; Jeremiah 25:8-17; Romans 10:1-13; John 9:18-41
Wednesday: 119:145-176; Jeremiah 25:30-38; Romans 10:14-21; John 10:1-18

Albany Intercessor