Upper and lower springs

This story is repeated in Judges 1.

Joshua 15:16-19 (NIV)
And Caleb said, “I will give my daughter Aksah in marriage to the man who attacks and captures Kiriath Sepher.” Othniel son of Kenaz, Caleb’s brother, took it; so Caleb gave his daughter Aksah to him in marriage.
One day when she came to Othniel, she urged him to ask her father for a field. When she got off her donkey, Caleb asked her, “What can I do for you?”

She replied, “Do me a special favor. Since you have given me land in the Negev, give me also springs of water.” So Caleb gave her the upper and lower springs.

The Negev is a rocky desert. Othniel means the might of God, and Aksah means ankle bracelet. Ankle bracelets were worn for their tinkling noise.

Dear Heavenly Father,
I thank You for adopting me into the household of faith through the death of Your Son Jesus Christ. He is the might of God.
I thank You for the gift of the desert experiences in my life. As I walk through the desert, give me springs of living water, both upper springs and lower springs. I thank You for all of Your gifts. Amen.

Leave a comment