The GAFCON Primates Council — other candidates?

(Posted by KB)

A few days ago, over at Stand Firm, I participated in a discussion about what other Anglican Primates might possibly join the new Primates Council created at GAFCON.

As many of our readers will know, I and my Lent & Beyond colleagues have done a lot of research on the Primates over the past few years for Lent & Beyond’s Primate Prayer Campaigns. (Remember our Primates Picture Gallery or Primates Prayer Brochure in the lead up to Dar es Salaam?) Based on that quite extensive research and much prayer for the Primates over the past 4 years, I’d say the following are the Primates who might be most likely to sign on, and whom I, personally, intend to keep in prayer:

First, here are the Primates currently on the new GAFCON Primates Council

Primates on the GAFCON Primates Council:
+Peter Akinola, Nigeria
+Justice Akrofi, West Africa
+Emmanuel Kolini, Rwanda
+Benjamin Nzimbi, Kenya
+Henry Orombi, Uganda
+Greg Venables, Southern Cone

My colleague Jill has written a prayer for these Primates, here.

Here are the five other Primates I think most likely to join:

+Valentino Mokiwa, the new Primate of Tanzania (his membership is not yet assured, there will be a vote of the Tanzanian HoB)
+Mouneer Anis of Jerusalem / Middle East
+Fidele Dirokpa of Congo
+Ian Earnest of Indian Ocean
+John Chew of SouthEast Asia (I view his involvement as very important, but he’s been quiet for awhile (at least in terms of statements available to the wider world) and it’s hard to guage his current sentiments re: what’s going on.)

Other possibilities:
(These have been signatories to various Global South declarations over the past few years, and/or attendees at various Global South events. All these Primates to my knowledge are personally orthodox and opposed at some level to TEC’s and Canada’s actions, but face various pressures that may keep them from taking a stand.)

Bangladesh: (Formerly +Michael Baroi, there is a new primate Sishir Sarkar, about whom I know nothing)

Burundi: Bernard Ntahoturi

Myanmar (Burma): Stephen Than Myint Oo (elected Jan 2008, has ties to Network & Common Cause)

Pakistan: Alexander John Malik

Papua New Guinea: James Simon Ayong

Philippines: Ignacio Soliba (This is a province TEC seems to have heavily targetted to try and sway)

Formerly Strong Global South Provinces, now in transition:
Central Africa: formerly +Malango, now in between primates and in considerable conflict from what I gather.

South India: There is a new Primate. Was +Sugandhar, now John Wilson Gladstone. I know nothing about the new Primate.

Sudan: There is a new Primate. Was +Marona, now Daniel Deng Bul Yak

West Indies: +Drexel Gomez has or is about to retire (I’m unsure of his current status)

***

I would welcome further info on the various newly elected Primates or the current status of any of these provinces in transition, especially West Indies.

For those committed to praying for the Anglican Primates, you can find the latest list at the ACNS website here.

We welcome comments or suggestions as to what research or prayer resources would be helpful related to the GAFCON Primates Council, and the Anglican Primates as a whole.

Feel free to contact us at AnglicanPrayer@gmail.com

***

A Prayer for the Primates by the Rev’d. Dr. Peter Toon
(adapted from a prayer written for the Feb. 2007 Primates Meeting in Tanzania)

Almighty Father, giver of all good things, who by your Holy Spirit have appointed various Orders of Ministers in your Church, mercifully and tenderly look upon each and all of the Primates of the Anglican Communion of Churches.

Grant that each Primate may faithfully fulfill the duties of the high Office given unto him within his own province and in relation to other provinces and churches. So replenish him with the truth of your Word and doctrine, and so adorn him with gentleness and godliness of life, that he may in word and deed faithfully serve you in all things, to the edifying and well-governing of your Church and to the glory of your holy Name.

Especially we pray that he will always be ready, with all faithful diligence, to banish and drive away from the Church all erroneous and heretical doctrines and to teach only that which is in agreement with the Holy Scriptures and which maintains the Church in unity in truth, and truth in unity.

We name each one in your holy presence as we pray for your grace and wisdom to rest upon him [pray for each primate by name]

When the Primates meet together, send, we pray, your Holy Spirit upon them, that being bound together in holy fellowship and sound doctrine, they may exercise wisdom and courage. Grant that by their advice the Communion of Churches will be helped to set right that which is wrong, and to advance that which is good and acceptable in your sight. These petitions we offer in the Name of the Lord Jesus Christ, Head of the Church, and our only Savior and Lord. Amen.

7 Responses to The GAFCON Primates Council — other candidates?

  1. I just realized, I probably should have listed Bangladesh in the “transition” category, as I know nothing about it’s new Primate. I had put Bangladesh in the “possible” category based on what I new of their previous Primate, and then forgot to make the switch when I discovered there was a new Primate in place.

    (I don’t think the elections of new Primates in Bangladesh or South India received any coverage at all. I hope to do some research on the various new primates over the weekend or early next week.)

    KB

  2. I’m beginning to have my doubts about Abp. Ernest of the Indian Ocean as a possible supporter of GAFCON.

    Abp. Remy, his predecessor as Primate of the Indian Ocean was a very strong supporter of the Global South movement. Abp. Ernest attended several Global South events after his election as Primate, and I believe even attended an AMiA annual conference in Florida 2 years ago (just prior to the Primates meeting in Tanzania, if I recall correctly). So, I’ve been hopeful that +Ernest might take a stand.

    But his involvement on the planning committee for Lambeth, and now his election to a leadership position in the Francophone Network (which has issued a statement focused on the “primordial importance” of unity in the Communion, see here:
    http://www.episcopalchurch.org/79901_98795_ENG_HTM.htm ) leads me to believe he is not likely to want to make any waves or take a stand for GAFCON.

    I hope and pray I’m wrong and would welcome information from those who might have more specific information about this Primate.

    –KB

  3. Some news re: Burundi. I found info online as to who attended GAFCON and who is attending Lambeth

    Click to access eab-2008-06.pdf

    GAFCON AND LAMBETH CONFERENCES
    The Rt Rev. Martin Nyaboho and the
    Provincial Secretary, Rev. Pedaculi
    Birakengana, are representing the Province at
    the GAFCON Conference in Jerusalem.
    The House of Bishops and their spouses will
    be attending the Lambeth Conference in
    Canterbury from 16th July – 4th August.

  4. Here’s a link to a story with comments about the Primate of Hong Kong about GAFCON. Note he opposes what TEC & Canada have done. But he also is harshly opposed to GAFCON and any idea of a Primates Council

    http://www.religiousintelligence.co.uk/news/?NewsID=2288

    I sense there are probably another 6-8 Primtes that would share this position — basically traditionalist, but wanting nothing to do with new structures.

  5. Brien says:

    Archbishop Deng of Sudan called for VGRobinson’s resignation at Lambeth; I don’t know what he will or won’t do, but I would hope he is a good candidate for GAFCON council.

    Apart from his “bombshell” speech to Lambeth, I know nothing about him. But, that speech is enough.

  6. Update as of July 31 — a comment I posted at Stand Firm:
    http://www.standfirminfaith.com/index.php/site/article/14508/

    Hi all,
    Was offline much of yesterday and only just now realized that Sarah linked this L&B post.

    As GA/FL noted in comment #2 above, I wrote this post over a month ago following GAFCON. I’m not aware that any of the other GS Primates have specifically addressed the possibility of joining the GAFCON Primates Council, or even said much at all about GAFCON. So, I’ve not got a lot of hard facts on which to provide any kind of update. But here are my “gut” thoughts at this point in Lambeth:

    1. I still believe it HIGHLY likely that +Valentino Mokiwa and +Mouneer Anis will sign on. (+Mokiwa may actually already now be officially included, I think I remember seeing something about a Tanzanian vote re: GAFCON just before Lambeth).

    2. Based on his incredibly bold stand at Lambeth, Sudanese Abp. Daniel Deng Bul might be quite sympathetic to GAFCON. My only hesitation is that with the Sudan in crisis, +Deng may choose to focus his energies on his own Province’s needs, which certainly would be understandable.

    3. I’m less optimistic than I was about +Ian Ernest and +John Chew because of the roles they’ve been given by Canterbury (+Ernest was on the Lambeth Design Commission, +Chew is on the Windsor Continuation Group). Sadly, I think such institutional support roles will limit their freedom of action to join GAFCON. I still think for the long-term success of GAFCON that it is important to get somewhat more Com-Con minded orthodox Primates like +Chew or +Gomez on board. It’s not looking so likely however.

    4. I’ve heard/read NOTHING at all recently of several other orthodox African Primates such as Bernard Ntahoturi of Burundi or Fidele Dirokpa of Congo. So, it is impossible to guage their support of GAFCON.

    5. Likewise I’ve heard read NOTHING about any of the following probably-orthodox Primates at Lambeth. I’ve not done exhaustive searches, however. If anyone has seen commentary by / about the following Primates, please let me know!

    Bangladesh: new primate Sishir Sarkar

    Myanmar (Burma): Stephen Than Myint Oo (elected Jan 2008, has ties to Network & Common Cause)

    Pakistan: Alexander John Malik

    Papua New Guinea: James Simon Ayong

    Philippines: Ignacio Soliba

    South India: new Primate John Wilson Gladstone

  7. Ugh, maybe I’m reacting too strongly, but in reading the comments by Abp. Ian Ernest this afternoon (July 31) as reported by Matt Kennedy in his Liveblog,
    http://www.standfirminfaith.com/index.php/site/article/14979/

    I’d have to say that the odds on +Ernest taking any kind of pro-GAFCON stand just got a lot longer. He is sounding really mushy. I’m saddened by this, and hope I’m overreacting:

    ++Ian Ernest: We have been given a process by the Archbishop that enables us each to have a voice. At the opening session I did my speaking in French, and invited all the bishops to be a part to the process that the ABC has been inviting us to participate in. I have to say that we have been able to form friendships from each end of the spectrum and to do it. It is has been challenging and exciting. We have been able to express our views openly and honestly and listen carefully and attentively to bishops in other contexts. I remember having spoken passionately about my convictions and then another bishop stood up and told about his convictions passionately and then we held hands and said that we have to take this journey together

    The conversation cannot stop. It must continue

    But we have also widened the scope of debate. We are talking about polygamy and sexual abuse and promiscuity, the whole scope of human sexuality has to be integrated. We must be able to act in generosity toward one another. I remember that in my own indaba group a bishop was rejected in his group 10 years ago but today we are able to live with one another and to shed tears together knowing that we have different ways and different understandings, but the AC allows us to take out from under the table an issue and engage in it. Even with my own African colleagues we are listening to each other. I hope this Lambeth Conference will give us opportunities for being a group together and loving one another for the love of God given on the cross.

Leave a comment