Lent Prayers: Dietrich Bonhoeffer – In Me there is Darkness, but with You there is Light

from our archives – originally posted March 2007

Lent Prayers: A prayer by Dietrich Bonhoeffer
Filed under: Prayers & Prayer Themes, Quotable, Guidance, Lent 2007, Lent Prayers — Karen B.

God of the day and of the night, in me there is darkness, but with you there is light. I am alone, but you will not leave me. I am weak, but you will come to my help. I am restless, but you are my peace. I am in haste, but you are the God of infinite patience. I am confused and lost, but you are eternal wisdom and you direct my path; now and for ever. Amen
–Dietrich Bonhoeffer, 1906-1945

source: Thisischurch.com (the original link to this specific post from 2007 no longer works)

Update: I found a longer version of Bonhoeffer’s prayer here

3 Responses to Lent Prayers: Dietrich Bonhoeffer – In Me there is Darkness, but with You there is Light

  1. My Blog says:

    My Blog…

    […]Lent Prayers: Dietrich Bonhoeffer – In Me there is Darkness, but with You there is Light « Lent & Beyond[…]…

  2. […] Prayer by Dietrich Bonhoeffer link God of the day and of the night,  in me there is darkness, but with you there is light.  […]

  3. […] A Prayer by Dietrich Bonhoeffer link […]

Leave a comment