Hurricane Sandy: I’m out of words… pray for first responders & emergency officials

I’m out of words tonight.  I’ve been blogging extensively here and on other sites about Hurricane Sandy since Friday when I became aware of how historic and severe the storm was likely to be.  I’m sad that my extreme concern was not off base, but has proven to be warranted and that we are watching a terrible natural disaster unfold before our eyes.

And even though the storm has made landfall, the worst will not be over for many many hours yet.  Tropical storm force winds are predicted to continue in many areas for more than 24 hours, and the record storm surge flooding we’re seeing all over the region will not recede quickly with such winds continuing to push them ashore.

While I’ve been focusing alot (for instance in my comments at TitusOneNine) on the NYC area (because that’s where the media is focused, and where the news is available)  I’m actually most concerned right now for some of the areas we’re NOT hearing from on the Jersey Shore (Atlantic City, Brigantine, Point Pleasant…), Long Island, Connecticut,  Delaware…

A little while ago I was reading some of the tweets from the Ham Radio Emergency Response network.  They’re talking of fires, water rescues on Coney Island, people stranded in Brooklyn, a response vehicle overturned while trying to rescue someone on Fire Island, etc. etc.

Tonight as I get ready to close down my computer, I would urge people to pray for first responders and emergency officials.

I’m too tired (it’s nearly 2 am in my time zone) to write an original prayer, but I’ve adapted a prayer I found online:

Father in Heaven,
Please make [our first responders and emergency officials] strong when others are weak,
brave when others are afraid
and vigilant when others are distracted by the chaos.
Provide comfort and companionship to their families when they must be away.
Serve beside them and protect them, as they seek to protect others.
Amen

[by the Rev. Robert A Crutchfield. found here]

See also here for another prayer.

Leave a comment