Lent Prayers: St. Ephraim the Syrian – Take away the spirit of laziness

From our archives, originally posted March 2007

Lent Prayers: Prayer of St. Ephraim the Syrian

Filed under: Quotable, Saints & Church Fathers, Lent 2007, Lent Prayers — Karen B.

the prayer of St. Ephraim the Syrian, a prayer dating back to the fourth century:

O Lord and Master of my Life,
Take away from me the spirit of laziness,
faint-heartedness, lust for power, and idle talk.

+

Instead grant me, your servant,
the spirit of purity, humility, patience, and love.

+

Yes, Lord and King,
give me the power to see my own faults
and not to judge my brother.
For You are blessed unto ages of ages. Amen.

One Response to Lent Prayers: St. Ephraim the Syrian – Take away the spirit of laziness

  1. Albert Mark says:

    It is very good to see this prayer. I appreciate well.It help us to think ourselves and think god’s love. Such a great thought can inspire anybody at any time. We need good thoughts and inspiring words to think about our existence in this world.

    Thank you.

Leave a comment