Hillspeak

June 4, 2008

Hillspeak, home of The Anglican Digest, Operation Pass Along, the Anglican Book Club, the Howard Lane Foland Library, The Anglican Bookstore, and more, is celebrating its 50th anniversary on October 22. Located in Eureka Springs, Arkansas, clergy can stay in their guest facilities. We had a wonderful family vacation there several years ago. Donations to this admirable institution can be made online.

Almighty God, our heavenly Father, who declarest thy glory and showest forth thy handiwork in the heavens and in the earth;
Guide and direct thy servants at Hillspeak, that they may do the work which thou givest them to do, in truth, in beauty, and in righteousness, with singleness of heart as thy servants, and to the benefit of thy holy Church; for the sake of him who came among us as one that serveth, thy Son Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.


Psalm 49:5-8a

June 4, 2008

Why should I fear in the days of evil, when the iniquity at my heels surrounds me? (Psalm 49:5)
      Father, I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in your son, who loved me and gave himself for me. (From Galatians 2:20)

Those who trust in their wealth and boast in the multitude of their riches, (Psalm 49:6)
      Jesus, I have nothing of my own to boast of: no excellence of speech or of wisdom or riches; but I am determined to know you, Jesus and your crucifixion. I go among others in weakness, and often in fear and trembling. My speech and my witness are not with persuasive words of human wisdom, but in demonstration of the Holy Spirit’s power. Let my faith be in you and your power and not in the wisdom of men. (From 1 Corinthians 2:1-5)

None of them can by any means redeem his brother, nor give to God a ransom for him–for the redemption of their souls is costly, (Psalm 49:7-8a)
      Holy Spirit, please help me remember at all times the cost of my salvation: Jesus death on the cross and his resurrection. Please move in the hearts of all of those going to the Diocesan Convention. Give us a renewed understanding of Jesus’ claim on our lives and his call to the renewed life in you. Thank you.

He himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you” (Hebrews 13:5).
      Thank you.

      Pray for the Diocesan Convention. Pray for a mighty move of the Holy Spirit among all who are going to it.

Wednesday: 49, [53]; Ecclesiastes 3:1-15; Galatians 2:11-21; Matthew 14:1-12
Thursday: [59, 60] or 8, 84; Ecclesiastes 3:16-4:3; Galatians 3:1-14; Mat. 14:13-21

Albany Intercessor


Rio Grande

June 4, 2008

Plans for the Diocesan Leadership Retreat in the Diocese of Rio Grande have been made by the Design Team. The team worked with design consultant Kathy Isaacson and search/transition consultant Suzanne Foucault. The Retreat will be held in Albuquerque on June 4 and 5, 2008. The Standing Committee, Diocesan Council, the Search and Transition Teams, and the Design Team will be participants. This is a very important event for the Diocese, as the plans for the healing and visioning process which is intended to reach throughout the Diocese will be initiated at this time.

Lord, I pray that each and every participant will consult with You. Be the vision and the healing of the Episcopal Diocese of Rio Grande. Amen.

The hymn “Be Thou My Vision” can be found in the Cyberhymnal. It can be easily adapted from the first person to the third person.


Province IV Synod

June 4, 2008

Today commences the Province IV Synod at Kanuga.

At her mother’s suggestion she asked him, “Give me here and now the head of John the Baptist on a plate!”
The king was sad, but because of the promise he had made in front of all his guests he gave orders that her wish be granted. So he had John beheaded in prison.
Matthew 14:8-10

Lord, we pray that the Episcopal Church will not be severed from Jesus Christ. Amen.